1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root uh oh....i have an issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by angldvl81, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. angldvl81

    angldvl81 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1,507
    360
    193
    Female
    my job
    AZ
    rooted new phone, tried installing my previous rom (shift ics 3.2.1) and it failed saying unable to load side something or other....wiped cache, rebooted and got hung up on the HTC splash screen....so i unrooted and returned to factory settings and same thing....HTC screen only. any clues??
     

    Advertisement

  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    rooted with revolutionary,i assume?

    when you say "unrooted and returned to factory settings" what did you do,exactly? did you remove the revolutionary hboot(i hope not)

    if youre still s-off,you can try just flashing some different roms in recovery.

    failing that,you can flash an RUU. again,assuming youre still s-off,you can flash a PG05IMG or run a .exe file(start it with the phone in fastboot). id start with 2.11.605.5.
     
  3. angldvl81

    angldvl81 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1,507
    360
    193
    Female
    my job
    AZ
    Im back to s-on. I tried different roms and all said unable to load. Even though it was on the splash screen, I was still able to unroot, so I could reroot correct? If so, then what?
     
  4. RandyRucker

    RandyRucker Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    68
    3
    16
    I have a general philosophy I use with electronic devices: You keep pushing buttons until something good happens and you stop when something bad happens. It may however not work in this case. Sorry I couldn't be more helpful. :rolleyes:
     
    angldvl81 likes this.
  5. angldvl81

    angldvl81 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1,507
    360
    193
    Female
    my job
    AZ
    got it fixed....in my tired state last night i failed to download and flash the updated h-boot....lesson learned!!!
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  6. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    glad you got it fixed. just to make sure i understand:
    1)you unlocked and flashed the engineering hboot with the phone on the splash screen,using the guide here.
    2)you flashed the firmware,but not the 1.05.0000 hboot
    3)the phone would not boot the 2.11.605.9 firmware with the eng hboot? :eek:
    4)flashed the 1.50.0000 hboot and all is well

    hmmm thats an interesting scenario that may indicate the firmware/boot/radio is doing extra checks and not letting it flash without the 1.04 or 1.05 hboot. think ill have to try and duplicate this situation :D

    are you going to re-root or just stay stock now?
     
  7. angldvl81

    angldvl81 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1,507
    360
    193
    Female
    my job
    AZ
    Already rooted! When I unrooted I forgot to flash the stock Rom so that's what was causing the issue. (the .9 nohboot file and hboot only)
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    oooooh,yeah thatll do it :eek:

    glad you figured it out,tho :cool:

    are you able to flash roms now? i still wonder what the prollem was with that the first time :thinking:
     
  9. angldvl81

    angldvl81 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    1,507
    360
    193
    Female
    my job
    AZ
    Yea I'm back to SHIFTAO5P ics 3.2

    For awhile I was thinking it was twrp that was messing it up but I guess it was my own doing.. As my dad said last night "gotta play to learn"

    I'm just glad I was able to fix it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...