1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Uk O2 update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iambigbrother2, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. iambigbrother2

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    Hi all... I am running 4.1.1 on an s3 bought from phones4u on O2

    A couple weeks ago my phone just died on me (I have no idea why) anyway I got it back and my sisters s3 updated to a new version which has a different keyboard etc.

    When I click update software on my phone it says none is available

    Any idea why? Especially as my sis updated
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Not sure. Try kies?

    Phones4u only supply unbranded handsets so your update will not come from o2. It will come from Samsung.

    Please type *#1234# into the dialer and advise me of the output
     
  3. iambigbrother2

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    ap: i9300xxdlj4
    cp: i9300xxdlid
    csc: i9300oxadlj4

    whats this?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Oxa (in the csc) is unbranded although I've only just learned this exists. Usually. Btu us unbranded for uk.

    But yeah wont be coming from o2
     
  5. iambigbrother2

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    i connected the phone to kies but it says the firmware is not able to update via kies. Why is this happening?

    do you think i need to root the phone? (if this is the case is there a dummies guide on how to do this)
     
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,247
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    i thought it was BTU too. would he be aswell to root and change the CSC incase that ones fulla bloat?
    or root and odin the BTU version?

    p.s, i tried the o2 version of 4.1.2 first n there was a problem with the camera
     
  7. iambigbrother2

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    ive still not been pushed an update

    my phone was recently repaired by carphone warehouse

    do you think they may have screwed something up?
     

Share This Page

Loading...