1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Ultimate Performance & Battery Life

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ChiTownJim, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC

    Advertisement

    sldsnk likes this.
  2. unlazyfree

    unlazyfree Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    34
    4
    36
    how did you get 1404 benchmark score? I have the same kernel and everything except build number..mine's 3.16.605 etc (even though ive rooted my phone)
     
  3. BaadAndy

    BaadAndy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    80
    6
    16
    KY
    Yes of want that score also! 1329 is the best I can get using second wave.
     
  4. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    I'm not sure how I got that score I usually am always in the upper 1300 and into the 1400s.
    It was just with the Hydra 1.15 OV kernal and SecondWave.

    I'm actually on JagerRom with Hyrda Kernal now and i'm getting 1461
     
  5. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    just ran quadrant twice. 1455, 1492.

    skyraider 2.5.2
    2.15 radio
    king #2 kernel

    overclocking to 1152, with a few profiles that bring that speed down based on battery life...

    under normal circumstances, i have setcpu using the conservative governor...i think the key to getting quadrant numbers like above is that when you run the benchmark, you need to set it to performance.
     
  6. ninjakyle

    ninjakyle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    183
    6
    36
    musician, speaker
    Indiana
    where is that? I am a member! That would be cool. I was just debating buying it.
     
  7. ninjakyle

    ninjakyle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    183
    6
    36
    musician, speaker
    Indiana
  8. ninjakyle

    ninjakyle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    183
    6
    36
    musician, speaker
    Indiana
  9. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    you won't see 1400+ with the stock kernel...you have to overclock to get those numbers consistently.
     
  10. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    Ok here are my numbers. This was done from a fully charged bat (charge til green then turn off and charge til green again method).

    [​IMG]
    Notice my bat percentage and how high my score is. My profile is set to go to 768ghz when the battery is under 25%. Seems really high for that to be true.



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    Overall I am pleased so far. This is light-average use for me.
     
  11. ninjakyle

    ninjakyle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    183
    6
    36
    musician, speaker
    Indiana
    by the way, I had my setcpu matched to ChiTownJim

    So with Skyraider 2.5.2 Sense. Which kernal should I get? I just istalled whatever one came with skyrader in rom manager (there was an option there).
     
  12. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    I have had great success with the hydrakernel 1.113 ocuv #3. Its really just up to you. Everyones phone seems to react differently to different kernels so just take some time and try some out and Always nand backup.
     
  13. JohnnyBlace

    JohnnyBlace Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    71
    1
    16
    I've only seen over 1100 with stock kernel once or twice, it's been pretty low otherwise. thinking up going to hydra or kingx tonight
     
  14. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    Look at my quadrant scores from my post earlier. My setcpu profile is set to be at 768ghz when I took that test and my score is extremely high.
     
  15. JohnnyBlace

    JohnnyBlace Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    71
    1
    16
    I meant stock htc kernel
     
  16. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    I know, which would mean you were talking about 998ghz speeds when running quadrant. According to my setcpu profile, it is supposed to run at 768ghz when my battery gets <25%. My battery was at 7% when I took that quadrant test and I got 1471.
     
  17. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    are you using hydra? i'd say something's wrong w/ setcpu or the kernel (or the combination thereof) in that case...i get 1400+ routinely when i'm overclocked to 1152. i just clocked down to 768 / performance and got 1053...
     
  18. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    Yes I am using hydra. Not sure why it scored so high. I agree that 768ghz should not pull those kinds of numbers. I just checked my setcpu while my phone was <25% and it was reading 768 max so I can only assume thats what it was when I scored that. But to be honest, I get a HUGE variety of scores from quadrant, anywhere from 1000-1500 at 1113ghz so Im not sure how accurate that test really is.
     
  19. upther

    upther Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    456
    61
    53
    Micco, FL
    I routinely get scores in the 1400s while using Kings #3 kernel and overclocked to 1152. I don't know about battery life yet since I just rooted tonight. I'll know more after tomorrow.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. androidxen

    androidxen Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    67
    8
    16
    Third Wave, Hydra OCUV kernel. 1425. Thanks for the SetCPU settings, the battery life is great.

    //did a reboot, hit 1499!
     
  21. CheeseJam

    CheeseJam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    179
    44
    43
    So, does SetCPU work with Hyrda kernels or not? I am a bit confused. :thinking:
     
  22. birthofahero

    birthofahero Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    442
    81
    53
    Yes it works. The guy who makes the kernels doesnt "suggest" you use them, but they are compatible from what I understand. I read over at xda that he said that you can use setcpu for the profiles if you want but he doesnt see a "need" to use it. I believe he said that he doesnt think his kernel needs "3rd party app support".
     
    CheeseJam likes this.
  23. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    i just upgraded to king #3...won't know anything about battery life for sure until i run it for a while, but initial impression seems like it's running down faster than #2 was.
     
  24. CheeseJam

    CheeseJam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    179
    44
    43
    OK, thank you. May I ask why you use Hydra Kernel #3, I use Hydra Kernel #1. Is #3 better in most cases, or do I just need to experiment?

    Also, for SetCPU, what do you guys use for "scaling" and "set on boot"? Thanks! :)
     
  25. rushmore

    rushmore Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Oy! I just noticed that the screen in the OP shows "Unrevoked" for build number, but mine shows 3.16.605.0, but I ran unrevoked and isntalled and also installed 2.15 radio (which can not be done withouth unrevoked).

    Anyone else not show "unrevoked" for build number?

    Settings:

    Android 2.2
    Baseband 2.15
    Kernel 2.6.32.15 HTC
    Build 3.16.605
    Software Skyraider 2.5.2 Sense
     

Share This Page

Loading...