1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Ummmm, help plz? :)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Scotlac, Aug 31, 2011.

  1. Scotlac

    Scotlac Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    87
    44
    23
    Hi guys,

    I was partitioning my SD card to install the new EVOlved ROM using the following instructions. I got to step #6 and realized that I don't know how to get the ROM back onto the SDCard from recovery, lol.

    How to Flash (If you don't want to partition sd skip to step 5)
    1. Back up sd card on computer and make sure you have Amon-RA
    2. Go Into recovery and go into Partition sdcard
    3. Then Partition SD
    4. Then stay in the partition sdcard menu and go to SD:ext2 to ext3. Do that 2-3 times
    5. Wipe data/factory/reset, cache, and dalvik cache. or use VR Superwipe or something like that
    6. Put rom on sdcard
    7. Flash The Rom Like Normal
    8. Then boot into heaven

    Can anybody help me out?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. mthill2

    mthill2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    104
    12
    38
    while in recovery go to usb/ms tethering or something like that. That allows you to get into your sd on your phone. Move the files back from your computer to your sd and then flash rom. I got stuck doing the exact same thing.
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  3. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    close....usb/ms toggle
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  4. Scotlac

    Scotlac Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    87
    44
    23
    Awesome, thanks guys!!

    From there I just access it as an external drive?

    I've been having a lot of problems lately doing that so I hope this works, hehe. :eek:
     
  5. mthill2

    mthill2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    104
    12
    38
    exactly!!!!
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  6. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    it will work...thats how i transfer zip's to my card...so much easier than tryin to do it with your phone on....
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  7. Scotlac

    Scotlac Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    87
    44
    23
    For some reason I'm not able to access my SD card through the USB cable. I think it may be a problem with the card itself since I've been having this issue over the last week or so.

    Is it okay to pull the battery while in recovery? If so, I think I'll run and pick up a new card......
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you can just power off in recovery. if not then yes it is safe to pull the battery out so long as you are not in the process of flashing anything.
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  9. Scotlac

    Scotlac Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    87
    44
    23
    Thanks Ocn!!

    In your experience when there is difficulty with the phone communicating with the PC is it generally related to the SD card?
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it can be (though slightly unusual), but it could also be the cable, the phone, the pc. any anti-virus or even htc sync can all cause communication errors and more. so it is hard to say sometimes.

    edit: what size card do you have? can your pc see the contents of your card?

    edit:edit: sorry missed a few posts. so it looks like you cant see the card. then it might be your card.
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  11. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    @Scot,

    I had a heck of a time with getting my sd card in phone recognized by pc for a little while. then it got better, still don't have a lot of confidence in it.

    But, do you have an adaptor to put the micro sd into and have a card reader on ur pc? You can do it that way too, just make sure to use windows to unmount it before you yank it out to b safe.
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  12. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    You know, several months ago with one of the CM7.0 nightly releases, after a few days, my sd speed dropped to extremely slow speeds, even the point were the file wouldn't completely transfer. I ended up using adb to push the file, which I suppose you could try.

    Code (Text):
    1. adb push FILE /sdcard
    something like that perhaps?
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  13. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Put the lime in the coconut.... do what??? :p
     
    Scotlac likes this.
  14. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Phones plugged in? In a windows prompt (assuming windows here), cd into the directory with adb installed.

    From there type "adb push (file name) (file destination)"
    where file name is something like "Mik3dB1.zip" and file destination is something like /sdcard/FLASH/ROMS...

    catch my drift?

    **ADB is required for this >.>
     
    dustwun77 and Scotlac like this.
  15. Scotlac

    Scotlac Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    87
    44
    23
    Woot! Got it back up and running!

    Many thanks to all that helped. :)
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    could you elaborate more on what worked for you? eager minds want to know.:)
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...