1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Unable to Login to Email Without Restart First

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by THRobinson, Aug 29, 2016.

  1. THRobinson

    THRobinson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014

    Mar 10, 2014
    14
    0
    15
    Male
    Graphic Designer
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    So, new issue the past week.

    Use to be that I could open chrome, click a bookmark to login to hotmail/outlook and no problems.

    Now, I login, no problem, but next time I try I get DNS issues and cannot open the page. Tried Firefox to see if a Chrome issue, and same deal.

    Tried uninstalling, clearing cache etc, and still the same issue. Seems like I have to release/renew my DNS to get it to work, which means shutting down the tablet (Nexus 10) and turn it back on again. And first login works fine, but later in the day when I retry, same issue again.

    Nexus 10 is not rooted, and has most current Android installed. Couple of weeks ago I did a full reset of the tablet and reinstalled just what I use (not much). Wasn't having issues, just ever so often I do a factory reset and update just to clean off all the junk. Only noticed the issue this week.

    Any ideas? I'm open to another reset, but if a simple fix, I'd rather do that.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,400
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,400
    3,144
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    my wife is in hospital for a long time, and the WiFi here will not allow you to close the channel for even a few seconds.....

    I have found that every time I do that, close the lid, when I open it back up, I have to restart the laptop in order to get back on the hospital WiFi
     
  3. THRobinson

    THRobinson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014

    Mar 10, 2014
    14
    0
    15
    Male
    Graphic Designer
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    My network hasn't changed since January when I bought a new main router and a new secondary router that was cascaded to the main to extend the range. Old farm house, very dense walls.

    I'm about 8 feet from the main router, signal is fine. Week ago, issues started. Nothing between the two was changed.

    I'm going to do a full reset tonight, see what happens I guess.
     
  4. THRobinson

    THRobinson Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014

    Mar 10, 2014
    14
    0
    15
    Male
    Graphic Designer
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    So... flashed the firmware on my router, just in case, and did a full factory reset of the tablet and same issue.

    It's only for hotmail, regardless of browser, and only on the tablet, and has worked fine for about 2yrs.
     
  5. FilocJD

    FilocJD Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    22
    18
    38
    Sounds like the devices network card is causing some problems in communicating with hotmails' data server. If it's just the tablet, then test it on another tablet that is android (preferably the same OS or device) and see what happens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...