1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Unable to send text messages.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ghostwriter, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. ghostwriter

    ghostwriter Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    My battery was giving me around six hours of life despite anything I did, so I decided to try to perform a factory reset and see if that helped anything. Well, I did the factory reset and the phone is back up and running (battery still sucks, though) but I can't seem to send any text messages.

    When I try to send one, I get this error message:

    SMS Error
    Radio Interface Resource Shortage

    OK | Details


    When I click Details, I see this:

    SMS Error
    Cause Code: 64
    Error Class: 2


    Any idea why this is happening?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ghostwriter

    ghostwriter Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Nevermind, I got it fixed. Verizon had to make some changes in my account and now it works.
     
  3. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    glad you got it working
     
  4. psaulnier27

    psaulnier27 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    what did you do? i have the same problem and cant solve it
     
  5. superchaos

    superchaos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    486
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    486
    36
    43
    Mira Loma, CA
    have you tried reprogramming on the verizon network? *228 option 1
     
  6. psaulnier27

    psaulnier27 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    yes i tried that a lot, i had to call customer service and then end up getting tansfered to some guy who knew a heck of a lot about the droid eris, he had to tap into my account and have me do a few things then he had to send me a download, took about 25 minutes.
     
  7. zampy1391

    zampy1391 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    Earlier I tried to send a text and i got the same SMS Error Radio Interface Resource Shortage message the OP got. When i pressed Details it game me the message..
    SMS Error
    Cause Code: 64
    Error Class: 2

    What can I do to fix this? I was texting fine earlier, then it randomly stopped working.
     
    ja21961 likes this.
  8. skybax22

    skybax22 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    The exact same thing is happening to me right now. I have tried reprogramming a million and one times, tried another factory reset, placed two calls to Verizon, etc. I just want my phone to be able to be able to send and receive texts and send and receive calls again, is that too much to ask?
     
  9. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    Call #8899. It shouldn't be more than a minute after you verify your information.
     
  10. skybax22

    skybax22 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    This brings me to the same menu as *611. They are the people I have talked to twice already to no avail.
     
  11. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    I had this problem this afternoon. It was fixed. Not sure what's going wrong if that isn't working.

    Tell them you did a hard reset and you got a radio error message.
     
  12. skybax22

    skybax22 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    Okay, called back, she had me reset and reprogram a few times, finally she did something and the reprogramming screen had an extra line that said "SSD Update Successful." Phone works perfectly now.
     
  13. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    Good. I didn't have to go through that much, she just told me to reset the phone and all should work. Since I'm a rebel, I didn't and it still worked. I restarted anyways just to make sure. All was good.

    I heard someone say they had to download something. Dunno wtf they're making people do when it sounded like she just did something on the computer.
     
  14. skybax22

    skybax22 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    17
    0
    15
    Today when I call my voicemail I get a busy signal...
     
  15. ndjohn45

    ndjohn45 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Spent nearly an hour on the phone with Verizon tech support; rebooted, did *228, and eventually had to wipe the entire phone, download a new version, re-enter all the email information, etc. Very nice guy named Steve at VTS, but he had never heard of the problem before.

    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...