1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Unable to uninstall outlook. Tried all standard tricks.

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by digix, Aug 28, 2018.

1. digix

digix Lurker

I am unable to uninstall outlook under Android 8.1 no matter what I try.

I have revoked ALL security permissions, including device access. However the best I could do was disable the app. CC Cleaner doesn't see outlook in it's app removal options.

I'm a seasoned computer scientist and it is an atrocity that a big corporation like Microsoft does something so dirty as to make it hard to uninstall without a factory wipe.

Even if I do a factory wipe on the moto x4, there's a risk it will reinstall due to google play stores app sync.

2. dontpanicbobby

dontpanicbobby 100% That Guy
    VIP Member

I've been away from Microsoft for awhile.
    Seems to me though if you installed it from the Play store you should be able to remove it easily. Was Outlook pre-installed on your device? @digix

3. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum

Outlook is probably set as a device administrator. Look in settings>apps>special access>phone administrators and see if Outlook is listed. If so, turn it off and then uninstall.

psionandy and Unforgiven like this.
  4. digix

digix Lurker

Nope. Play store won't let me remove it

5. digix

digix Lurker

Nope. I checked that too. It is not a phone administrator. I removed all permissions.

6. lunatic59

Hmmm. Was it installed as part ofan Office 365 subscription? Maybe you need to log into your MS account and remove it from the control panel that way.

Unforgiven likes this.
  7. Unforgiven

Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...

I don't have any experience with Outlook on my phone, but figured I would confirm for the other folks trying to help that Outlook did not come preinstalled as a system app on the Moto X4.

lunatic59 and Hadron like this.
  8. digix

digix Lurker