1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Underclocking rooted stock?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mode, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. mode

    mode Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    44
    0
    15
    Background:
    Hello everyone, I have a quick question. A friend and I were discussing whether the Droid underclocks automatically when stock.

    We are both rooted and on CM nightlies, however, after experiencing some instability, he suggested bumping my lower speed limit from 250 to 500. I'm still in the process of testing if that resolves the problem.

    Question:
    Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could provide me with conclusive proof that the Droid does (or doesn't) underclock itself when stock (i.e. without the assistance of setCPU).


    Let me rephrase my question:
    Does the stock Android OS adjust the processor frequency dynamically as needed (like setCPU does). If so, to what degree (i.e. 250-550 MHZ as needed)?

    Thank You,
    ~mode
     

    Advertisement

  2. emdmao

    emdmao Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    384
    51
    53
    8.php
    Arm
     
  3. mode

    mode Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    44
    0
    15
    Thank you for the information. However, It's not quite what I'm looking for. I'm looking for how stock Android for the Motorola droid handles CPU frequency.


    Let me rephrase my question:
    Does the stock Android OS adjust the processor frequency dynamically as needed (like setCPU does). If so, to what degree (i.e. 250-550 MHZ as needed)?

    Thank You,
    ~mode
     
  4. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    19
    5
    16
    By default, Android's stock kernel has the governor set to OnDemand. Is that what you needed to know? I just noticed which forum I'm posting in... :) So yea it scales automatically.
     
  5. mode

    mode Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    44
    0
    15
    Well, I suppose that answers one part. Do you know what the range is for scaling?
     

Share This Page

Loading...