1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Underline Misspelled Words in Red

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by recDNA, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    Other phones automatically underline misspelled words in red as you type (keyboard doesn't matter).

    Droid Maxx
    [​IMG]

    Our Note 3 doesn't.
    [​IMG]

    How can we get this feature?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It was one of the biggest things that bugged me about my S3.

    Its not included in touchwiz, and the only way I could get it was by flashing a custom ROM based on stock android.

    Why Samsung would get rid of such a useful feature is beyond me :thinking:

    I'll follow this thread to see if there's been any progress since then. :)
     
  3. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    I don't even know if there is a custom ROM for Note 3 that has the feature enabled.
     
  4. jetguat

    jetguat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011

    Sep 18, 2011
    287
    14
    38
    Male
    Telecommunication Infrastructure
    Midwest
    I love the note three. One of the primary reasons for getting it was the size, as I was fat-fingering typing on my Droid Bionic to much. While improved with the N3, I must say that something about me and this keyboard do not go well together. perhaps I I trying to type to fast I dunno. but I get so many mistakes its ugly. I turned off auto correct since it kept changing my words dramatically. but with autocorrect off, I also see how bad my quick typing is. I need a happy medium. I think the way my bionic did autocorrect was much nicer, I just needed a lager virtual keyboard. not sure what to try except possilby a 3rd party keyboard app. never though I would need one.. but maybe..
     
  5. Gomjaba

    Gomjaba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012

    Nov 8, 2012
    672
    106
    113
    Tried the Google Keyboard?
     
  6. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    The red lines under misspelled words are not a function of the keyboard. Where do you get a google keyboard anyway? (besides a Nexus)
     
  7. Oldhead775

    Oldhead775 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    37
    7
    36
    Male
    Philadelphia Metropolitan Area
    The play store
     
  8. jetguat

    jetguat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011

    Sep 18, 2011
    287
    14
    38
    Male
    Telecommunication Infrastructure
    Midwest
    I went into Settings->Language and input. I see that google voice typing is checked. The "default" keyboard option lists Samsung Keyboard and Swype.

    Is swype the google keyboard? I switched to that from the samsung. will try it
     
  9. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    I just tried google keyboard. It still doesn't underline errors. I can't use auto correct because it often makes the wrong predictions and I tend to miss them.
     
  10. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The keyboard won't affect it. Its gotta be a feature built into the OS unfortunately
     
  11. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    This is a serious enough problem for me to consider rooting my phone but I don't know of any roms that enable this feature. I've also noticed a number of complaints about what I consider serious problems (like wifi issues or battery issues) with every original rom available.
     
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Any ROM based on Google stock android (aosp) will have it. (Paranoid android, omnirom, cyabogenmod, carbonrom, ect.)

    You'll also lose the stock touchwiz features
     
  13. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    I don't think you can install aosp roms in the Note 3 since bootloader can't be unlocked? Anyway, I would prefer a rom just like stock but with this feature activated. I read it is possible to do.
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I don't have your device, so my suggestions do depend on your development community (or lack thereof if there's no boot loader unlock) :thumbup:
     
  15. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
  16. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
  17. mrsfarmer

    mrsfarmer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    12
    4
    16
    I really miss this too.

    Noticed too that you can't add words to the dictionary like on my Rez so that must have something to do with keyboard too.
     
  18. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    You can still add words to the user dictionary. I added a few.
     
  19. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    11,785
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    11,785
    7,262
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    How'd you do it?
     
  20. InGearX

    InGearX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    378
    15
    38
    This is terrible ..

    People spend $600+ on Note 3

    And it doesn't have a core feature that a 5 year old phone does .. Underline mispelled words in red..

    My 10 year old blackberry did that in 2004

    My 20 year old PC with Word did that in 1994

    Its 2014 and Note 3 can not do this!?

    Never again Samsung!

    maybe there is some registry like hack / flag to enable this?!

    some say:

    http://androidforums.com/verizon-ga...d-spelling-underline-feature.html#post6631083
     
  21. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    there is a hack but first you must be rooted then you must be willing to decompile. way beyond my skill set.
     
  22. InGearX

    InGearX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    378
    15
    38
    i am seriously considering rooting !
     
  23. recDNA

    recDNA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    694
    51
    78
    Feature back since update
     
  24. universetraveler

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015

    Jun 27, 2015
    12
    2
    16
    Male
    recDNA .. thx mate

    since exactly which update? 5.0?

    for ALL?
    i have international v..

    thanks!

    if u can WhatsApp me at +1.718.974.4394

    and i PMed u
     
  25. dynomot

    dynomot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,902
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011

    Dec 4, 2011
    1,902
    909
    273
    Male
    Sheffield U.K
    Not just for the developer model, but for the vast majority of Note 3s out there that are the SM-N9005 - the international variant. Please don't fall for the corporate misinformation, it is Verizon, and AT&T that cripple your devices, and put their version of the OS in them (including locked bootloaders) not Samsung.
     

Samsung Galaxy Note 3

The Samsung Galaxy Note 3 launched in 2012 and was the company's flagship phablet. The device featured a 5.7-inch display with a 1920 x 1080 resolution, 3GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and a 13MP main camera.

Share This Page

Loading...