1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Understanding Facebook/HTC Sense in regards to Contacts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Vida3d, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. Vida3d

    Vida3d Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Chicago
    I just got my 3D yesterday and while for the most part, it's been a dream. The contact situation is a little frustrating. When I first logged into my Gmail acct and my Facebook acct, all of those contacts were downloaded. Of course, there were duplicates between the two sets of information. I was initially given the option of linking 100 or so contacts, so I didn't have time at that moment to do all the linking, I ignored the notification. Now, I'm trying to link a set of contacts and the software is just not letting me. I can select the "link" option which takes me to either FB or Google, but then the link just doesn't happen. I've tried from FB to Google and vice versa. I've also tried restarting my phone. Any other ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. 3D-Vex

    3D-Vex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    I'm having this same issue. I can say it's strictly an issue between the Google Contact and FB in my situation. I loaded the FB app as well as the HTC Sense FB and they have linked together without issue. I am able to break and re-establish link between the two. However no matter how I wish to link to the google contacts it will not make the link. Any suggestions?
     
  3. truematchu

    truematchu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    As frustrating as the situation is, I am glad I am not the only one experiencing these difficulties. also wanted to add that I can not even link them manually. I go through the steps and it does not link them.
     
  4. Erjune

    Erjune Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    12
    2
    16
    I was able to link Phone, Google, HTC FB, and FB without any problems. If you pull down the notifications screen (with the swiping motion) there isn't anything that states "Contacts Matched" (or something like that)? If you do see it press it and it will bring you to a new screen. You can press the little symbol depicting a broken link on the right hand side and it will link up. Just do that for all the contacts shown there and hit done at the bottom and that should work.

    The alternative method (which takes a much longer time than the above method because you have to do it separately for each individual contact) is
    - Go to the People app
    - Select the contact you want to link
    - Press the link symbol on the top right
    - You will see anywhere from one to more than one broken link symbols on the right hand side (depending on how many profiles you can link). Click those so they are linking and hit done. Repeat for every other contact.

    I'm sorry if this was utterly useless. It's hard to understand what your problem is :/ I will agree that setting my contacts was by far my most frustrating experience with the 3VO. In retrospect, perhaps I should be thankful for that :p
     
  5. atg284

    atg284 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    201
    77
    73
    Logistics
    Ohio
    I just used my google mail account to add all of my contacts. There is an option for "Starred In Android" in the "Group" dropdown menu as you input them. That adds them to my contact and you can add everything including a picture and it shows up.

    Hope this helps!
     
  6. Ray-Ban

    Ray-Ban Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    31
    7
    16
    I installed the "facebook" app from the marketplace onto my phone. It added all of my friends into my "people", however it appears I also have an "HTC Sense" facebook app as well. In my phone contacts, I have two duplicate contacts: one with a facebook icon, one without on some of the contacts. One has the profile picture next to them, the other does not.

    Which is the sense, and which isn't? Does anyone have both installed? I dont feel like I have an actual "app" for the HTC sense facebook interface. What's the difference? I also cannot add phone numbers to the facebook contacts to text them. Any way to fix this?

    I know that I can link the two contacts together, but for hundreds and hundreds of contacts, this isn't exactly feasible.

    Thanks ahead of time!
     
  7. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    The Facebook app from the Market is a lot better about linking, providing details, and pictures. However, it adds EVERYONE and not just people you have phone numbers for.

    HTC's version adds just people you have phone numbers for, but is spotty about linking and providing details.

    How do you choose? Go to menu (button) > Settings > Accounts > and choose which one will sync contacts by opening the respective account and checking, or unchecking, Contacts.
     
  8. Ray-Ban

    Ray-Ban Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    31
    7
    16
    That was very helpful, thanks! On the market facebook app, the only option for sync is contacts. The Facebook for HTC Sense has contacts, as well as feeds, calender etc. Are the syncing features on the HTC Sense sync just for the friendstream etc? Or should I keep those synced still?

    Unclicking "sync" on the HTC Sense Facebook contacts should remove all of those from my phone once unchecked and re-synced; correct? And finally, how do I add phone numbers to my Facebook contacts so I can text them? I dont have an "edit" option available.
     
  9. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    You have to link them. Find their phone number contact and hit the chain link icon in the upper right. Then find their Facebook profile. So, any edits you do to this now linked profile will actually modify your phone's contact (and will get sync'd to Google's backup server if you have it enabled). But it appears as one contact listing.

    And yes, clicking off contacts in the facebook listing of your account menu should remove them immediately. Resyncing won't hurt, though.
     
  10. Ray-Ban

    Ray-Ban Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    31
    7
    16
    It appears that Sense Facebook contacts brings in their image etc, while the Facebook app does not. How do I add a phone number to a Facebook contact? Is the only way to make them also a local phone contact?
     
  11. acipollo

    acipollo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    162
    6
    36
    New York
    Make a Google contact for the person and link it to that persons Facebook contact.
     
  12. Ray-Ban

    Ray-Ban Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    31
    7
    16
    Got it, thanks that is helpful!
     
  13. 3D-Vex

    3D-Vex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    I've tried removing the Facebook accounts and signing back up. The problem persists however. I was unable to remove the the Google account to try that. I may attempt to remove all the Google contacts and resyncing them to see if that remedies the issues. Beyond that I'm at a loss at to how to remedy the situation.
     
  14. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Interesting, it was the complete opposite for me.
     
  15. 3D-Vex

    3D-Vex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    Ok, I think I have figured out the issue and it's not an easy fix. The Google contacts will not link without additional information, like an email, not just a name and number. Try putting in their same email as there Facebook and you will be able to link.
     
  16. 3D-Vex

    3D-Vex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    Sorry to keep bumping the thread, but if you add a +1 to your contacts phone number it will allow you to manually link with minimal issue. Make sure to put it in before the area code.
     
  17. Ray-Ban

    Ray-Ban Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    31
    7
    16
    Strange.... does anyone else have both the HTC Sense facebook app and the Android Marketplace Facebook app installed?
     
  18. Ray-Ban

    Ray-Ban Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    31
    7
    16
    I had the same issue, however I uninstalled the Facebook App, then re-installed. I also unselected my Gmail account contact sync and then reset my phone just for good precaution.

    When I restarted, I reselected (sync gmail contacts) to enable, and then a minute later it brought on a notification saying that there were one hundred or so contacts that I could link.

    I then clicked the options button (four lines button on phone), and selected "select all".

    It then linked my HTC Sense, Facebook, Gmail, and Phone contacts together... just my two cents.

    Also, before I had linked them, I had two contacts for almost every person (a gmail contact or facebook app contact, and then the HTC Sense contact).
     
  19. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    also, instead of having to click all 100 or however many contacts it wants to link.. you can hit menu.. and link all.
     
  20. goodm7sn

    goodm7sn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    in my case , htc sense facebook never synced the facebook contact info back to google servers when i linked them , actually they stay on the phone and u cant edit them , like if that facebook user decides to modify his info on his profile , it will only be modified in the linked contact on the phone only , no google sync will happen and thus preventing a sudden chaos in contacts on the google server.

    dont know about others but that's how it always been with me, unless i am missing something , correct me if i am wrong please :)
     
  21. 3D-Vex

    3D-Vex Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    I do. I have found they both perform roughly the same just with slightly different widgets. The HTC Sense widget isn't as flexible I have found when compared to the Facebook app. Both programs import profile pictures without issue for me.
     
  22. atg284

    atg284 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    201
    77
    73
    Logistics
    Ohio
    I am having trouble deleting the Facebook contacts there were put on my phone. When I first started using the phone, Facebook syncd all of my friends with their numbers numbers. When I select the phone button over a hundred contacts show up because of the Facebook sync.

    I did go into setting and marked each Facebook app to not sync any more but the problem is that I cannot delete the ones I do not want. Do I have to uninstall both Facebook apps? Or is there a way to delete these contacts?

    Thank you for any info!
     
  23. Dooderino

    Dooderino Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    62
    17
    18
    NJ

    If you hit the down arrow in the upper right corner of your contact list then hit address book it should just give you the people who are in your Google address book. Then if you need the other list you can hit the arrow again and switch to the Facebook list
     
  24. atg284

    atg284 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    201
    77
    73
    Logistics
    Ohio
    Thanks, I did figure out the widget you are talking about but my issue is when you hit the phone button on the home screen. There is no down arrow to differentiate contact types there...

    Edit: I ended up just putting a "people" app/shortcut on my main page. I realized I was just nitpicking ;)
     
  25. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    hi, i just bought my evo 3d, but one thing i noticed is that for whatever reason, it didn't come with the standard facebook app that it's supposed to come with. i already made an htc sense account and synced the phone to my facebook account, but i have no idea how to actually get onto facebook. please help, i'm actually getting really frustrated here..
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...