1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Unfortunately, the process com.google.process.gapps has stopped

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Greenveg, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. Greenveg

    Greenveg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #510
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    28
    2
    16
    Male
    I have reset my Hudl 2, put everything back, but when I power off and reboot this message "Unfortunately, the process com.google.process.gapps has stopped" keeps appearing. I have seen solutions telling you to clear cache, data etc., but I cannot remove the message from the screen. I cannot open anything while this message is there.​
     

    Advertisement

  2. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,315
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,315
    660
    313
    Male
    UK
    Hi @Greenveg let me redirect you to an interesting article firstly about your hudl:

    https://www.theguardian.com/money/2019/mar/25/tesco-hudl-tablet-support-kill-fix

    Secondly the issue you have is well known and reported, however there is a solution:

    https://hudl2.jellypie.co.uk/unfortunately-the-process-com-google-process-gapps-has-stopped/

    Good luck, with Prime day fast approaching you will be able to pickup a bargain Amazon Fire tablet when it hits on.. amazon! Might be worth a look as their tablets are rather good, so long as you dont mind the modified android that they run and no playstore. (Although can be added)
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  3. Greenveg

    Greenveg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #510
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    28
    2
    16
    Male
    I have read the link you gave me. When I go to Settings > Apps, I see three dots in the right hand corner. I click on this, a menu drops down saying "Sort by size" and "Reset app preferences". I cannot see anywhere saying "All".
     
    #3 Greenveg, Jul 12, 2019 at 4:41 AM
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019 at 4:49 AM
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,983
    Posts:
    25,571
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    25,571
    15,735
    2,983
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    according to the guide in the second link once in settings>apps>scroll right to "all"

    this means there is a tab that you can swipe to the right to get to the all selection......at least that is how i interpret the instructions.
     
    JAy3001 likes this.
  5. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,315
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,315
    660
    313
    Male
    UK
    You should at this point scroll right or at least find an option to display All apps rather than just the ones you installed or something along the lines of display system apps.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  6. Greenveg

    Greenveg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #510
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    28
    2
    16
    Male
    Thank you, I will try that. In the meantime I think I have found a different answer to the problem. All this seems to surround Google, so I did another reset and declined to sign in to my Google account. The message no longer appears. You have to remember not to open Playstore, as it will ask you to sign in to your Google account. If you do this the message will start to appear. I have downloaded Apps through the internet instead of Playstore, and I am still message free. Some of the Apps I have downloaded show a box asking you if you want Google to monitor this App, and asking to accept or decline. Make sure you click on decline. This may not be an ideal solution, but it is an alternative.
     
  7. Greenveg

    Greenveg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #510
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    28
    2
    16
    Male
    I have found "all Apps" by going to Settings > Storage > Apps. I scrolled down to “Google Services Framework”. It seems now that I have two solutions. Thank you everyone for your invaluable help.
     
    JAy3001 likes this.
  8. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,315
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,315
    660
    313
    Male
    UK
    That's ok, glad you got it sorted @Greenveg

    To be honest the ultimate solution is to replace your aging, unsupported device with something a little more shiny. ;)
     
  9. Greenveg

    Greenveg Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #510
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    28
    2
    16
    Male
    I am going for a Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1.
     

Share This Page

Loading...