1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Uninstall vz navigator?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RavenTai, May 31, 2011.

  1. RavenTai

    RavenTai Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    27
    3
    16
    My droid broke this weekend, have to have a phone so walked in and got an x2,


    Rooted with ginger break shortly after for tether, but even when rooted there are some applications that cannot be uninstalled, the button is greyed out, one big one I want rid of is vz navigator

    Is there a way?
     

    Advertisement

  2. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    titanium backup to delete or freeze.
     
  3. Stick1300

    Stick1300 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    56
    3
    36
    I froze it (and a lot of other bloatware) with Bloat Freezer.
     
  4. rankman

    rankman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    166
    30
    43
    Male
    PA
    Yea I froze it too with bloatfreezer.
     
  5. RavenTai

    RavenTai Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    27
    3
    16
    Thanks, that got vz navigator and a few others, one problem though, wireless hotspot, it does not show in titanium backup, is it there under another name?
     
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    i hope you froze it and not uninstalled it.
     
  7. RavenTai

    RavenTai Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    27
    3
    16

    I uninstalled it, why? Is Vz navigator of any use? I like the stock android navigator just fine and it is free unlike vz navigator. I did back it up before uninstalling.
     
  8. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    You won't be able to accept an update and it might could cause problems flashing things. Thats why it's always best to freeze. Then you can defrost all apps to accept an update or do any modding then re freeze your apps
     
  9. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
    I freeze the bloat and then "hide" it from my apps list using Launcher Pro's option. Aside form taking up space on the drive, I don't have to think about the bloat.
     
  10. ilangford

    ilangford Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    here's a simple solution...

    settings\applications\manage applications click "all" then find maps and vz nav... then click on "clear defaults" on both apps.
     
  11. GCracka

    GCracka Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    VZ Navigator isn't very useful compared to the stock i agree with you on that and you have to pay!
     
  12. wharpig

    wharpig Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    79
    2
    16
    PC Analyst
    Ohio
    I uninstalled mine weeks ago....then the market automatically downloaded it again...
     
  13. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    Mine was doing that, except only with the games. Then it stopped. Never quite sure what I did, maybe a setting somewhere.
     
  14. wharpig

    wharpig Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    79
    2
    16
    PC Analyst
    Ohio
    It was annoying, but I just froze it....
     
  15. rottenpixies

    rottenpixies Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    53
    5
    16
    Chef and Blogger
    New York
    Like others have suggested, I use titatinium backup for this type of thing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...