1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Uninstalling preloaded swype on DL30, installing beta

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gaw316, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. gaw316

    gaw316 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    So the one thing I kinda miss about being on dl90 is having the latest version of swype loaded on.. and I know I have to delete/uninstall the current preloaded version... and I try using root explorer but no matter what i delete or rename swype won't go away! so i can't install the beta :-/...

    any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Here's what I did myself. We all know about system/app and system/lib but there was a third place I had to go to delete something. Using RE go into data/data and there is something else from swype. Its called com.swype or something like that. Sorry I cant remember it exactly and now that I got 2.15 installed there's too much in there for me to remember exactly which one was there. But something was there.
    I also went ahead and just signing up for the beta rather than sideloading the apk. Figured what the heck
     
    lasportsfan likes this.
  3. lasportsfan

    lasportsfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    88
    1
    16
    Thanks for the help Saps.

    Its called com.swype.android.inputmethod

    I removed those 3, rebooted, installed the 2.15 swype apk and voil
     
    saps likes this.
  4. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
     
  5. gaw316

    gaw316 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    Tried deleting all the files in root explorer.. all I'm left with is 0kb swype.apk that keeps reaapearing in my system appear folder no matter how much I delete it rename or move it
     
  6. lasportsfan

    lasportsfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    88
    1
    16
    Hmm. Are you in r/w mode in root explorer? That's what I had to do to move them for good.
     
  7. gaw316

    gaw316 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    57
    0
    15
  8. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    After you delete all the files reboot
     
  9. greenmunky

    greenmunky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    288
    33
    43
    Craft Beer Provider
    Spring, TX
    Why would you guys want version 2.1.5 when 2.8.5 comes with the leak? The larger version number means newer, yes?
     
  10. gaw316

    gaw316 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    I have no idea how it works, but I feel the beta version is a lot better than the preloaded version... funky.

    Anyways I finally got it to work.. I strugged removing libswypecore i believer from my system/lib folder for freaking ever... everytime i'd manage to uninstall and delete the other files THIS one kept popping up in my system folder. I could never delete it. And I'd be able to install the swype beta but I'd get constant force closes. I had to reflash the supah clean rom (wipe data/cache). Download titanium and root explorer. Search swype in root explorer... delete all those files.. goto titanium, uninstall swype.. download swype installer... reboot.... and then install swype and it finally worked.
     
  11. lasportsfan

    lasportsfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    88
    1
    16
    The beta is the larger number it is 2.15 not 2.1.5.
     
  12. greenmunky

    greenmunky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    288
    33
    43
    Craft Beer Provider
    Spring, TX
    I stand corrected, pesky decimal places. I've been pretty happy with the version that came with the leak so far. What are the differences between the latest Beta and the leak?
     
  13. lasportsfan

    lasportsfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    88
    1
    16
    Well for me personally I like the larger keyboard characters, it seems more fluid and guesses words more accurately. I don't know the official changelog.
     
  14. greenmunky

    greenmunky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    288
    33
    43
    Craft Beer Provider
    Spring, TX
    I searched for "swype" using Root Explorer and deleted those files that it came back with and then used Titanium Backup to uninstall Swype. Now every time I reboot my phone it gives me a FC on Launcher Pro which goes away when I touch "wait" but when I try to install the Swype Beta I get a couple quick vibrates followed by "The application Swype (process com.swype.android.inputmethod) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again." So now I have no Swype at all and I really don't want to have to reflash DL30 and set everything back up. Does anyone have any advice for me?
     
  15. greenmunky

    greenmunky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    288
    33
    43
    Craft Beer Provider
    Spring, TX
    Nevermind... got impatient, wiped Data, wiped Cache (x2 each) and reinstalled DL30.zip. Restoring everything with Titanium as I type. I'll be much more careful next time I play around with Root Explorer.
     
  16. yohankenobi

    yohankenobi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    160
    7
    56
    Male
    Sales Professional
    Bay City, MI
    Anyone figure out the reason for this. I'm getting this situation and would rather not reinstall my ROM.
     
  17. AmanteNJ

    AmanteNJ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Go to your input settings and choose a different input method like the regular android keyboard, reboot and try again.

    Then delete Swype.apk in system/app, libSwypeCore.so in system/lib and com.swype.android.inputmethod in data/data

    reinstall the Swype Installer and you should be able to download and install the latest version which is 2.29.71.20203t100
     

Share This Page

Loading...