1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Universal Androot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andygu3, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Just saw this in the market, anyone wanting to root your phone, look for 'Universal Androot' in the Android market.;)

    Not sure if it works, but just a heads up
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Yep same one I have on my phone which I have not used yet, LOL but not sure what version it is as there seems to be 3 versions on the XDA forums, the one I have is 1.6.1


     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    No idea what version it is:thinking:
     
  4. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Probably The 1.6.1 - the newest version is still in beta test - but it works
     
  5. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    I tries to download this and it won't let me. Is there another way?
     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
  7. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    ok - Tried it to install FNX Download aborted.....????

    Said Bad Data - Doing a restore NOW - Don - Will let you know how it works
     
  8. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    wahoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    IM BACK - OK Now I feel OK to TRY again!
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,388
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,388
    8,119
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Kool I am still away I will check in the morning on our way to SC
     
  10. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    Ok, I found out how to download the app. Now, my question are...

    What does "superuser" mean?
    What exactly is a "soft root"?
    Will my phone fully be rooted by using this app?
    What does "generate log in/sd card" mean?
    Has anyone had any issues with this app?
     
  11. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    Can someone please answer my questions?
     
  12. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    see below

     
  13. Droid808

    Droid808 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    29
    1
    16

    Worked GREAT on my htc hero on 2.1 ... you can UNROOT the phone using option in SAME PROGRAM which ALSO works GREAT!
     
  14. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    Thanks guys. Guess I'm gonna finally try it.
     
  15. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    It says my device is rooted. Now what do i do?
     
  16. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    Flash a rom? Get root only apps? The sky is the limit. What do you want to do with your phone, now that it is rooted?
     
  17. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    Well, I tried booting into recovery and then pressed home. After that, it went black and then showed a pic of a phone with a red triangle over it. It basically froze my phone. I had to take the battery out in order to get the phone to power back on. It still works, but now I'm scared to try anything else.
     
  18. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    sounds like you need to flash a recovery image... Maybe try the rom manager app to get it flashed?
     
  19. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    I downloaded 'Rom Manager' from the market. It says that I need to flash clockwork recovery mod before I can do anything else. I tried and it keeps saying that an error occurs. Does this mean that I'm not actually rooted even though the Universal Androot app says I am?
     
  20. sbbamafan

    sbbamafan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    70
    1
    16
    Roswell, GA
  21. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    I did everything in the video and the same thing keeps happening. It keeps telling me that there is an error when I try to flash clockwork mod...

    Are there any settings I need to configure in order to get this to work? Come on guys, someone's gotta know why this isn't working for me.
     
  22. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Try Removing ROM Manager And Reloading it.
    things will get a bit more difficult (out side my comfort zone) if you don't have it.
     
  23. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    I rooted the old fashioned way, I don't really know much about androot. Sorry dude
     
  24. Linoleum

    Linoleum Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    99
    9
    16
    Using ROM Manager, flash a clockwordmod recovery. That fixed my red exclamation error message thingy.
     
  25. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    That's where I'm having the trouble. I'm trying to flash and it keeps giving me an error message. I'm gonna try uninstalling Rom Manager and reinstalling. Hope it works.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...