1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Unlimited Data and SIM transfer

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Andrew Lampart, Feb 21, 2016.

  1. Andrew Lampart

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016

    Feb 21, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    Hello,

    My phone (Note 4) is enrolled in an unlimited data plan. However, the device is currently malfunctioning. If I were to move the SIM card from my phone into my Galaxy Tab 3, which is enrolled in both the same network and same plan, then would I be able to use my unlimited data coverage on my tablet?

    EDIT: Sprint Network
     

    Advertisement

    #1 Andrew Lampart, Feb 21, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
  2. Dannydet

    Dannydet Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    918
    Posts:
    5,261
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    5,261
    3,415
    918
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    No. Each device has its own unique imei number, and that sim card is set to work only on that device's imei.... to find your device's ESN / IMEI / MEID number depends on the device.

    In most cases you can find the device identifier in any of the following ways:

    • On a sticker behind the device's battery
    • Via software on the "about" screen
    • On the device's box
     
    mikedt likes this.
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,208
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Are you serious that this is how it works in thr US? That's beyond crazy. I have an unlimited data plan too on my SIM and have just been transferring it between new phones when I get one over the years with no issues.
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,344
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,344
    16,792
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Usually you can do that with GSM, but Sprint is a CDMA/EVDO network, and you must register/activate a device's ESN or MEID with it before it will work. Originally CDMA never used SIMs at all, and it was only the addition of LTE that required them.

    I'm not sure if Sprint would accept a BYOD data only tablet on the OP's unlimited data, phone plan. Would have to check with them I think. Also depends if the OP's Tab 3 has CDMA/EVDO and LTE modes in it.
     
    #4 mikedt, Feb 21, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
    chanchan05 and Dannydet like this.
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,208
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    What is the reasoning behind CDMA networks anyway? I don't hear a lot of that outside US. It seems to be more of a headache than not.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  6. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,344
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,344
    16,792
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I believe CDMA2000(full title) was developed and introduced around the same time as GSM, in 1990s And was mainly adopted in North America. It's not used in Western Europe at all, but many countries around the world do have CDMA though, including China(China Telecom). But the caveat with CDMA is that devices are not as easily transferable to other carriers as with GSM, i.e. you couldn't just swap a SIM, you have to register the device's ESN or MEID with the carrier.
     
    chanchan05 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...