1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Unlock codes available today....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CharlieCA, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. CharlieCA

    CharlieCA Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    SoCal
    Just a heads up that I called AT&T today and asked for my unlock code and they provided it. Unfortunately I left my phone at home today, so I will have to try it when I get home. I don't know if it makes a difference, but my company has a discount with AT&T thus when I call in I am routed to the "enterprise support" area.

    I gave the person my IMEI number and they cam back with two unlock codes, which is different that any other times I have asked them for an unlock code. They did tell me to try one of the numbers first, and try the second one if the first one fails.

    I'll power off my phone tonight, put in my T-Mobile SIM card from my work Blackberry, and hopefully it will ask for the unlock code so I can try them out.

    I'll report back my results later today.
     

    Advertisement

  2. CharlieCA

    CharlieCA Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    SoCal
    So, tried both unlock codes. Neither worked.

    Called support desk. "Your phone is not eligible for unlock code. Those were PUK codes you were given".

    Person unable to answer whether not eligible because phone six month window since phone release still applies, or because I have only had this phone for two weeks (longer term ATT customer, just got phone as upgrade).

    I will try again next week. If I don't get a code from ATT in next two weeks will likely buy the unlock code as I have an international trip in September and I want to be able to buy a local SIM.
     
  3. mrcamp

    mrcamp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    135
    11
    38
    Chicago
    Once I read that you were given 2 unlock codes, I knew instantly that something was totally wrong, and there no way you should be given 2 unlock codes.

    As for the "not eligible" part, I am pretty sure it's because the 6 month window still applies. It should not matter how long you have had the phone. I have got unlock codes for several phones the same there I go them in the mail from AT&T.

     
  4. mackie99

    mackie99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    Riverside, CA
    I just got off the phone with AT&T and got the unlock code and it worked. I made sure the CS stayed on the phone while i did it. I put in a Tmobile sim, it asked for the Unlock code, reboot, and now have more bars with Tmobile than I did with AT&T. Doesn't matter though, I'm using the phone in Europe later this year.
     
    SimonSez33 likes this.
  5. mackie99

    mackie99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    Riverside, CA
    I just got off the phone with AT&T and got my unlock code. Worked perfectly.
     
    rohitashva likes this.
  6. droidbaby

    droidbaby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    51
    2
    36

    Did u buy your phone at full price?
     
  7. slipmagt

    slipmagt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    295
    19
    38
    Male
    Longs, SC
    I have no plans to leave AT&T, is their any benefits to being unlocked but staying with the original carrier?
     
  8. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX

    I think most people unlock for travel outside the country to use another carriers sim.
    Also when you go to sell the phone you might get a little more for it already being unlocked. (at least this is what I have noticed for the unlocked phones I have sold)
     
  9. CharlieCA

    CharlieCA Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    SoCal
    I called today and received the code, and it unlocked successfully -- or at least I think it did.

    It took the code and said unlocked. But the only SIM I have is a T-Mobile Blackberry SIM which I used. The SIM did not provide service, but I suppose that was because a Blackberry SIM probably made no sense in a non Blackberry phone. I'll have to see if someone has a non-BB SIM I can try.

    Or is the fact that it accepts the SIM card good enough to know I'll be ok with a UK SIM?
     
  10. mrcamp

    mrcamp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    135
    11
    38
    Chicago
    Yes. The fact that it accepted the sim means it's unlocked. It it were locked, you will not get past the "enter sim unlock screen".

    BTW, I also called and got my unlock code yesterday. Phone is now unlocked!

     
  11. rohitashva

    rohitashva Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    thanks for the post. I got mine too...
     
  12. mackie99

    mackie99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    Riverside, CA
    Yes, I bought the phone at full price.



    I unlocked it because I'll be going to Europe at the end of the year.
     
  13. SimonSez33

    SimonSez33 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    How did you convince them to give it to you? Are you an AT&T customer still? The rep I called (800-331-0500) on Monday (8/15) told me I had to be a current customer to get an unlock code for the Inspire. I'd like to get this code so I can use it on T-Mobile. Thanks.
     
  14. mrcamp

    mrcamp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    135
    11
    38
    Chicago
    AFAIK, you have to be a current customer in good standing in order to be able to get the code.

     
  15. mackie99

    mackie99 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    Riverside, CA
    I'm still an AT&T customer until tomorrow...so they gave me the code. :)
     
  16. iskortch

    iskortch Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    106
    1
    36
    I just received my unlock code. The AT&T rep told me I have to wait until I have a new SIM card to enter the code. Is this true? Can I enter the code with my current AT&T SIM installed?
     
  17. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX

    I dont think there is a place to put in the unlock code with an att sim. You need another sim from a different carrier once it's in then it will ask you to unlock.
     
  18. mrbrown76

    mrbrown76 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    oly, wa
    i have been unlocked since april.
    it is nice:)
     
  19. rickyjay

    rickyjay Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Hey im new here so i would like to ask: does the phone have to be purchased by the account holder so they can unlock it?

    My friend has att but never bought the phone, i did. can he call and have it unlocked?
     
  20. mrcamp

    mrcamp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    135
    11
    38
    Chicago
    No. The account holder just needs to have the IMEI of an at&t phone. So, your friend can call at&t to get the unlock code.

     
  21. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    My law, carriers are required to provide you with unlock codes for any/all mobile devices they sell. Yes, this means Apple iPhones as well.

    They CAN, however, put certain restrictions on, like:

    1 unlock code per line/account every xx days
    Your account has to be current (not late or anything)
    Account in good standing for x months/days
    And a few other minor restrictions.

    They are not required to put restrictions, but they are allowed.

    If a carrier refuses to give you an unlock code after you have met whatever requirements are met, you can threaten to call the FCC and they will straighten them out.
     
  22. CharlieCA

    CharlieCA Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    SoCal
    I've been able to get unlock codes for all my phones from AT&T (including my Inspire), but not for my wife's iPhone.

    I guess I should call them up and say "Talderon says you have to give it to me!" :cool:
     
  23. CharlieCA

    CharlieCA Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    SoCal
    Just called AT&T now again, and no dice on getting an iPhone unlock code.
     

Share This Page

Loading...