1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

unlock screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rajanm1, Apr 19, 2010.

  1. rajanm1

    rajanm1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    is there an app that disables the unlock screen after i press the top power button? (i hate having to currently press the power button and then swipe down every time i want to use the device)
    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Would you rather your screen wakes up and starts using data or calling people?
     
  3. tuatha

    tuatha Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    166
    42
    43
    Well maybe he'd like the option to switch the lock on or off. I know I would. It's inconvenient if you're listening to music or last.fm radio whatever.
     
  4. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    SWMBO's galaxy spica lost the ability to lock, and she was forever calling people and accessing the net etc until I reset it.

    Luckily she has a great T-mobile plan, as she racked up 1gb of data in 2 days as the phone was loading youtube vids in her pocket! She was also sending blank texts and calling people at random.
     
  5. ephumuris

    ephumuris Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    Yeah try No Lock or i think there is one called My Lock. My lock froze a bit for me.
     
  6. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    Not sure if it works on Desire, can't see why not, but pressing "menu" twice also unlocks the screen on my G2/Hero.
     
  7. ephumuris

    ephumuris Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    It does work yeah but it's an extra press too many for me ;)

    EDIT: Well power then menu. Not menu then menu.
     
  8. rajanm1

    rajanm1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    yes, i have unlimited data anyway :p
     
  9. tbl

    tbl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    55
    5
    36
    Power then menu - top tip, the slide annoys me!

    Also I keep changing my timeout to two mins, but something keeps changing it back to 1 min grrrr!
     
  10. Lars PA

    Lars PA Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    My problem is the opposite. I never seem to get my Desire out of my pocket before having rejected or answered an incoming call. Could I disable the auto unlocking of the screen on incoming calls?
     
  11. rajanm1

    rajanm1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    54
    0
    15
    maybe someone should make a screen unlock controlling app?
     
  12. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    There already is, someone mentioned some earlier.
     
  13. etherial

    etherial Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    23
    4
    36
    Victoria Australia
    Download the App "screenmodewidget"

    allows you to set your desire to three settings

    1. Normal
    2. Any hard key wakes the phone (the screen lock is not activated)
    3. Screen stays on
     
  14. oldnick

    oldnick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Yep I seem to have the same issue. Maybe I'm just tooo slow!
     
  15. PawPaw

    PawPaw Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    72
    2
    36
    UK

    I'd also like to have a better lock or should i say a more complex way to unlock.

    While in my pocket i have managed to connect to the internet and ring people several times. On friday i called my boss several times even though the phone was ( i thought ) safely in my pocket all locked up. Oh no it had unlocked and called him over and over. Lucky he has a sense of humour.
     
  16. chicgeek

    chicgeek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    40
    0
    35
    web designer and developer
    Vancouver
    Related question, sorry if it clutters:
    - is it possible to set the Desire to wake up (to allow for slide unlock) on any of the five lower buttons, not just the power button?
     
  17. oldnick

    oldnick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    I have the same issue - calls rejected before I can answer. Turns out that I'm hitting the power button at the top when I grab the phone. This automatically rejects the call!!! Grrrrr!
     
  18. MiracleBlue

    MiracleBlue Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Yeah, pressing the power button and then menu button on the HTC Desire unlocks without needing to swipe. Very annoying. Even if I were to enable the unlock pattern instead of just swipe to unlock, hitting menu button would bypass that, so if it were to do that in my pocket it would still be able to unlock itself which is a real problem.

    Anyone found a way to fix it?
     
  19. biscuitlad

    biscuitlad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    208
    7
    36
    Yorkshire

    Why don't you use the visual pattern feature in settings as unlock? Hitting power then menu just leaves you with the pattern to draw - it doesn't bypass it.
     
    MiracleBlue likes this.
  20. c_man

    c_man Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    174
    40
    43
    London, UK
    Is this not your answer, below?

     
  21. MiracleBlue

    MiracleBlue Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Really? I'll give that a try then. Though I've heard the pattern unlock feature can get annoying, but I'll at least have a go =]

    Thanks.
     
  22. DesireMe

    DesireMe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    777
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    777
    78
    78
    Poker
    Strathaven
    I've done this a few times, trying to wake the screen. :mad:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...