1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Unlock when you slide keyboard?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Polymira, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. Polymira

    Polymira Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    82
    4
    16
    Chico, Ca
    is there a setting that i'm missing or a tweak that would let me unlock my droid when i slide the keyboard open?

    i see no point in having to "slide to unlock" when i already had to manually slide the keyboard out. mose sliders will unlock when you do so, was sad that the droid doesn't ...

    so if someone knows something i don't, i'd appreciate the help =) thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. AbeFrohman

    AbeFrohman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    18
    1
    16
    Screen Mode Widget -- awake stay mode

    Slider problem solved.
     
  3. Polymira

    Polymira Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    82
    4
    16
    Chico, Ca
    Well, i'm not looking to change the normal screen unlock (press power, slide screen) ... just when you open the keyboard.

    as far as i know the Moment does this .. not sure about the g1. but it seems silly that it doesn't and i looked through all of the phone setting screens .. ugh
     
  4. AbeFrohman

    AbeFrohman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    18
    1
    16
    Gotcha. That's the best I could come up with. Works for me cause I don't like the slider.
     
  5. mxrider821

    mxrider821 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    199
    13
    38

    what is that? (Screen Mode Widget -- awake stay mode)

    and where do i get it?
     
  6. AbeFrohman

    AbeFrohman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    18
    1
    16
    Its in the market. Just do a search for it.
     
  7. mxrider821

    mxrider821 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    199
    13
    38
    thx ;)
     
  8. s-one

    s-one Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    114
    4
    56
    fyi: someone posted on the market comment that the screen mode widget doesn't work with the Droid.
     
  9. jmill75

    jmill75 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    57
    11
    18
    it does work, exactly what i needed
     
  10. Ravenger

    Ravenger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Well, the Screen Mode Widget works on the Droid but it seems to fail after a while, and by fail I mean if you try to change its settings by clicking on the widget icon, no changes will be applied. The app is still running but you can't change its settings. It's like a semi-freeze. You have to dump the widget icon into the trash and bring it back in order for it to clear itself. Still a nice app.
     
  11. AbeFrohman

    AbeFrohman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    18
    1
    16
    Noticed that today. Not a huge deal. I would rather have to dump the widget every so often then do that damn slider all day.
     
  12. lyfeizgudd

    lyfeizgudd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Hi...I am newbie to the site but am enjoying it immensely! I love my Droid and am experiencing my first problem tonight. I installed the screen mode app but am unable to open it for some reason. I uninstalled and tried again...the same thing happened. This also happened with another app from the Market. Any ideas?
     
  13. Lisa W

    Lisa W Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    37
    0
    35
    @lyfeizgudd
    Long press on a blank area of the screen, click on widgets, and you should see a list of available widgets, screen mode app should show. Select it and it will be added to your home screen.
     
  14. dakoop

    dakoop Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    119
    0
    35
    Can somebody create an app to unlock as keyboard is opened?
     
  15. chippy

    chippy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    233
    16
    38
    KS, USA
    I would like this.
     
  16. lyfeizgudd

    lyfeizgudd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    There it is! Thanks! It didn't even occure to me to look there. I have installed apps and not widgets and was looking in the wroong place. Thanks a million....Happy Holidays!
     

Share This Page

Loading...