1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Unlock Your Vibrant. Fast and Easy.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SamsungVibrant, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    To unlock your Samsung Galaxy S Vibrant to use a non T-Mobile sim card, the safest method is contacting T-mobile directly, and asking for a free unlock code. They may require that you be a customer for 40 days prior to giving you the unlock code for your phone. Generally, within 14 days, T-mobile will email you with your unlock code along with instructions.
    http://support.t-mobile.com/doc/tm51885.xml visit that link!

    There is another method, it may or may not work, you can go to Android Market and search for a program named "Samsung Galaxy S Unlock Tool" by DaGentooBoy. It is very fast, just install, run, and it displays and even emails you the code.

    for further information and using your code visit
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=7776555#post7776555
    Enjoy

    If the second method worked for you, please post your results here, and consider donating to the developers.

    edit:
    thanks to wildblue who says the wait is now 40 days, not 90.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wildblue

    wildblue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    199
    16
    38
    FYI, it's now just a 40 day wait with TMO.
     
  3. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    no way, thats even better
     
  4. darksandz93

    darksandz93 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    55
    1
    16
    Southern California
    Just a quick question, can you still send the phone in for warranty purposes with the unlock from the unlock tool?
     
  5. w_bovine

    w_bovine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,248
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,248
    147
    143
    Not a problem, given that after a certain amount of time you can ask T-Mobile directly for an unlock code. I seem to remember seeing somewhere that the waiting period to get an unlock code from the carrier is 40 days. Now if it's rooted or has a custom ROM, that's a completely different matter.
     
  6. wildblue

    wildblue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    199
    16
    38
    FYI, my 40 days was up on Wednesday. Yesterday I contacted TMO support and requested my unlock code. This morning I received the code in an email. So, confirming the 40 day rule, and also quick turnaround on getting the code.
     
  7. robo21

    robo21 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #218
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    918
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    918
    95
    98
    So Cal
    Just curious, are you planning on using the Vibrant on another network or did you just want it unlocked?
     
  8. wildblue

    wildblue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    199
    16
    38
    Traveling to Europe and want to use a local SIM over there. Unfortunately I can't test it until I'm there since you have to put in the other SIM before entering the unlock code. Hopefully it will work fine since I got it from TMO. :)
     
  9. Aiyan

    Aiyan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    423
    40
    63
    Male
    Payment Solutions
    Oslo / Shanghai
    It works like a charm. My friend's gf got a Vibrant, where she both us here Canadian carrier and Norwegian sim card on. So that shouldn't be the biggest problem, just place it the right way. :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...