1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Unlocked ATT SGH-I777 now w/ T-Mobile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bruinjedi, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. Bruinjedi

    Bruinjedi Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Which ROOT guide do I follow if I have this type of phone? The original ATT Samsung SGH-I777 GS2 guide?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,073
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,073
    27,807
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If the phone model is i777 then you root according to the AT&T guide. If you flash a rom, you may need to manually set the APN settings for t-mobile, but otherwise you just insert your sim. BTW, you do know that this model is not entirely compatible with T-Mobile's network? You'll never get 3G/4G because it operates at a different frequency. You'll only get 2/G EDGE data speeds.
     
  3. kerchew

    kerchew Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013

    Dec 9, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    untrue. i currently have unlocked sgh-i777 on tmobile and recieve 4g speeds in some areas. i think maybe a radio flash to tmobile will assist in better signal quality. ive heard only skyrocket will support, maybe there is a skyrocket version? i may try one of these radios and get back on better 4g coverage or not.
    going to update to 4.1.2 first though
     
  4. kerchew

    kerchew Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013

    Dec 9, 2013
    4
    0
    5
  5. kerchew

    kerchew Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013

    Dec 9, 2013
    4
    0
    5
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,073
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,073
    27,807
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    It was true, but T-Mobile has begun supporting standard international frequency bands, so not you can get the higher speeds.
     
  7. kerchew

    kerchew Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013

    Dec 9, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Ah I see. Maybe a radio flash will help with the newer international frequencies?
     

Share This Page

Loading...