1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root unlocked bootloader now im stuck...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jski711, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    134
    9
    36
    local 134 Electician
    chicago burbs
    i really tried to understand the adb stuff but im stuck. i did one click root and thought i was all good and installed cwm and its saying i need to root but i thought i already did that. any ideas or help would be awesome. thanks,

    Jake
     

    Advertisement

  2. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Run the one click script again and post the output, either copy/paste or attach a screenshot. Either way we can't tell you anything without seeing what happened.
     
    jski711 likes this.
  3. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    134
    9
    36
    local 134 Electician
    chicago burbs
    Press any key to continue . . .
    --- WAITING FOR DEVICE ---
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    --- Device Connected ---
    Checking for previous attempts...
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    Pushing Zergrush...
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    237 KB/s (23060 bytes in 0.095s)
    Setting Permissions...
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    Gaining Perm Root (Aka running zergrush)...
    error: protocol fault (no status)
    --- WAITING FOR DEVICE ---
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    --- Device Connected ---
    Pushing Busybox
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    2210 KB/s (1075144 bytes in 0.475s)
    Setting Permissions...
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    Remounting System...
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    mount: permission denied (are you root?)
    Coping Busybox to /system/xbin/...
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    /system/xbin/busybox: cannot open for write: Read-only file system
    Installing Busybox...
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    Unable to chmod /system/xbin/busybox: No such file or directory
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    Unable to chmod /system/xbin/busybox: No such file or directory
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    /system/xbin/busybox: not found
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    Installing Superuser...
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    failed to copy 'tools\su' to '/system/bin/su': Read-only file system
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    Unable to chmod /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    Unable to chmod /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    rm failed for /system/xbin/su, Read-only file system
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    link failed Read-only file system
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    protocol failure
    Removing tools That Was Pushed To Data...
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    Congrats You Are Now Perm Rooted...
    Press any key to continue . . .
     
  4. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    134
    9
    36
    local 134 Electician
    chicago burbs
    when i try to run cwm is says the following

    you must root your phone for rom manager to function. superuser was not found at "/system/bin/su" or /system/xbin/su" use google search on your computer to find instructions on how to root your phone.
     
  5. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    I quoted this message but the problem is all those "ADB server out of date" errors. Usually these are cause by HTC Sync running on your PC or multiple versions of ADB running on your machine. If you reboot and get the same error then it's usually the former. Check and make sure you don't have HTC sync running and if you have the Android SDK installed, copy ADB from there to your "files" directory from oneclick.
     
    jski711 likes this.
  6. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    134
    9
    36
    local 134 Electician
    chicago burbs
    ok i guess htc sync was running i redid everything and had different results. i am nan backup now and will post my results when i am done. which amonra should i download, is it the one that says one click backup? thanks again for the help
     
  7. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    134
    9
    36
    local 134 Electician
    chicago burbs
    ok htc sync was running so i stopped it and redid one click root and also completed step five. when i open amonra it says unable to download recovery manifest file.. please check to see if your phone model is supported.
     
  8. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    When you download amon ra you should flash it in hboot. If you're having trouble with getting it to flash you should try Scott's cleanflash script, it will do most of the heavy lifting for you.
     
    jski711 likes this.
  9. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    134
    9
    36
    local 134 Electician
    chicago burbs
    i did boot into hboot and and flashed recovery.img. not sure what im missing.....hmm
     
  10. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    134
    9
    36
    local 134 Electician
    chicago burbs
    ok i have to be missing something here. i have the recovery.img and i've tried to flash it twice now, once in hboot via cmd and another time using scotts clean flash to flash recovery.img. now what do i need to do, im utterly confused and a bit frustrated here. thanks..

    Jake
     
  11. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Ok, if you flashed Amon Ra properly, then you should be able to get into recovery mode. If you boot into HBOOT and choose recovery(or have a utility for booting into recovery mode) you should see the Amon Ra menu.
     
    jski711 likes this.
  12. jski711

    jski711 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    134
    9
    36
    local 134 Electician
    chicago burbs
    Ok I'm an idiot. I'm all good. Is there a program that reboots into recovery for you. I'm used to using cwm. Thanks again for all the help! I was actually good a few posts ago and just didn't realize it! LOL
     
  13. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Check the developer thread on XDA. Grab the extended power menu and you should be set. It lets you boot directly into recovery. Koush(the Rom Manager/CWM/Cyanogenmod dev) is supposedly working on an official build of CWM for the Rezound. So it's only a matter of time until you're on completely familiar ground.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...