1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Unlocked HTC one M8 stuck with logo and white screen and no OS!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Anton_Skrundev, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    Im in need of some help figuring out why this thing is stuck... I want to bring it back to stock!! I have s-off with a CID-11111111 I have TWRP version 2.7.0.2. When I tried doing something to the phone, or connecting it to PC, it would just say unrecognized device... tried installing new device and what no and nothing work... In need of some help. I have been up for five hours and within the fourth I must have erased the OS...
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Well since you have twrp you can just flash a rom if you have an sd card (which HTC do you have?)
    If not I'm going to call on an HTC expert @EarlyMon
    PS did you make a backup in twrp before playing with stuff?
     
  3. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    No backup and htc one m8 unlocked.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Ahh no sd card then. Bummer. We definitely need someone with experience in ADB then and EarlyMon is the biggest expert in HTC and ADB that I know on here. No idea what time it is in the US or even where in US he is so he could be sleeping right now mate
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I'm about to be, it's after midnight.

    After 5 hours of stress and starting to break things in the 4th, I recommend the same.

    I'll try to pitch in tomorrow if no one else does first. I'm not the biggest HTC expert here just louder lol.

    Meanwhile post back if it's a carrier branded phone and if so which one - and if Sense or GPE model.

    I see you have the SuperCID mod, so that means that you've been doing separate radio firmware updates - yes? If those have failed and that's what started this, say so up front, it'll save time.
     
    Hadron, funkylogik and dontpanicbobby like this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The One M8 has an SD card - you just saw one of my benchmarks with one lol.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Wow so I did. Why did I have it in my head the m9 brought it back? As for my excuses it's 8am here and I haven't slept since Friday morning lol :D
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    It has sense, and I was just trying to change it to stock, im not sure there was seperate radio firmware updates
     
  9. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    here is what it says on the phone, I got it off the white screen that was stuck
     

    Attached Files:

  10. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Whoa what does "show barcode" do on an HTC bootloader? (sorry it's off topic night for me. Haven't slept since the stone roses on Friday)
     
  11. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    never tried it... not used to seeing those my self! I just did it and it posts the the numbers, Imei, Serial and MB
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Get the sdk-tools.zip from the Mini-SDK post -

    http://androidforums.com/threads/adb-guide-updated-2014-11-11.443072/#post-5389081

    If you've ever run HTC Sync or could see your phone storage on your pc, you ought not need anything else.

    Unzip sdk-tools.zip, it'll create an sdk-tools folder. Shift + right click on the sdk-tools folder, Menu, open command window here (or similar words) - do that.

    Get phone to FASTBOOT at the top (from your picture, tap power to select the FASTBOOT menu item), plug in to PC, it should change to FASTBOOT USB.

    Command window say -

    fastboot oem relock

    Confirm that the top of the screen says LOCKED.

    Reboot back to FASTBOOT USB mode if not sure.

    If it doesn't say LOCKED then try -

    fastboot oem lock

    STOP IF YOU CAN'T GET THE PHONE LOCKED.

    Get the right update for your phone from here.

    http://www.htc.com/us/support/rom-downloads.html

    Was this your phone originally? Are you unsure what carrier it was originally on? (I'm trying to guess why you didn't answer that question - you missed it?)

    If it's from AT&T then you want this -

    http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-one-m8-att/news/

    If it wasn't, you might want to stop and let me know before trying that version.
     
  13. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male

    When i try any fastboot it just says waiting for device and nothing else
     
  14. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    it also says fastboot ac and not fastboot usb
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Have you ever installed HTC Sync on the pc?

    Or tried a different cable?

    Btw - here's how this works.

    I ask questions for a reason, my time is valuable, I don't want to waste it on bad advice from me and confusion with you.

    You answer my questions because it's not personal, and I continue to help you.

    Last time - what carrier did the phone start out on? Or do you not know?
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  16. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  17. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    I will answer your questions with honest answers to not waste time.
    I do not know what carrier, my brother in law bought it recently from a friend of his
     
    EarlyMon and funkylogik like this.
  18. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    I just found out that its on tmobile, checking through the imei.
    I tried HTC sync and it wont read the phone
    I tried two cables and still the same
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    When you try to boot it, does it show a carrier screen?
     
  20. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    no carrier screen.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Does the m8 have removable battery cover?
     
  22. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Sorry I missed that post so it's defo on t-mo?
     
    Anton_Skrundev likes this.
  23. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
  24. Anton_Skrundev

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    35
    16
    28
    Male
    yes
     
  25. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Well that should help EarlyMon when he wakes up.
    I know he sometimes seems a bit grumpy but he has a heart of gold and you're lucky to have him on your side trying to fix your phone.
    I've a lot of respect for the old bastard :D
    I'd say put the phone down for now, watch TV, wait for EarlyMon to reply and answer his questions to the best of your ability :thumbsupdroid:
     
    EarlyMon likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...