1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Unlocked Nexus S on Telus

Discussion in 'TELUS' started by db6058, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. db6058

    db6058 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have an unlocked Nexus S and would like to run it on Telus in the Vancouver area. It seems I need to tweak the APN settings. Can anyone tell me what they are or what other settings I may need to adjust?

    thanks!

    DB
     

    Advertisement

  2. db6058

    db6058 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Answering my own question.
    Nexus S is not possible on Telus. Nexus S is GSM. Telus does not yet offer GSM. So no 2G. For 3G service the frequencies chosen by Telus are also not compatible with Telus 3G services.
    Fortunately it works just fine on Rogers, so I switched over and am now running my Nexus S on Rogers.

    db
     
  3. sookster54

    sookster54 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    906
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    906
    56
    78
    Should've switched to WIND since you're in Vancouer then you would've gotten full service.
     

Share This Page

Loading...