1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Unlocked phones on cdma network?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by boyo1991, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. boyo1991

    boyo1991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    574
    Joined:
    May 26, 2011

    May 26, 2011
    574
    106
    123
    Male
    Claims adjuster
    the internet.
    This is one question I've always been asked and I don't ever know what to tell the customer.. but ill use me as an example because someday I wish to do it as well haha.

    Say I baught an unlocked cdma phone (has no sim card) and I wanted to use it on virgin mobile.. would the imei be valid in vm's system/database? Id like to do upgrades beyond what virgin can iffer, but I just don't know as far as cdma is concerned...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    CDMA phones don't use SIM cards. Unless they are LTE or GSM capable. You may be able to get the serial number (they use IMSI, not IMEI) registered though. If it's LTE capable, it does use a SIM card which you would have to acquire from Virgin somehow.
     
  3. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    If you port the device to Virgin Mobile and it is LTE capable they should give you a SIM card for LTE.
     

Share This Page

Loading...