1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Unmounted sd card in galaxy s4 !

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by randyfinn, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. randyfinn

    randyfinn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013

    Dec 30, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I have had my galaxy for a few months now with a 32 g sd card in it from the start . yesterday I got a notification that it was unmounted ..after removing and reinserting it ,restarting the phone but the problem continues, . I am not able to get to certain apps and games now. I don't really know what else to try, could someone help me out with this please ?:(
     

    Advertisement

  2. gloriousnumber1

    gloriousnumber1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    778
    52
    88
    Male
    Photographer
    Portland, Oregon

    I had this issue after one of my refurbished replacements. I was given a few suggestions.

    1. Take the card out and use a reader to see if your computer will read it OK. If it reads fine then that is a good sign for the card.

    2. Back up everything on the card on your computer. Format the card with the computer (this will erase everything), and then drag everything back on the card.

    3. Insert the card back in your phone and pull the battery, then reboot the phone.

    If the card works fine, the issue is solved. If the issue comes back, it's the phone, go to your carrier or call them and get them to order a replacement under warranty.

    I did all the above and found my card was good and the phone was bad.

    Good luck!
     
    electricpete likes this.
  3. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,105
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,105
    1,057
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    I may be wrong but I thought it was better to format the card in the phone.
    In either case, if you do format on the computer you certainly have to know the correct format to use.
     
  4. gloriousnumber1

    gloriousnumber1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    778
    52
    88
    Male
    Photographer
    Portland, Oregon

    You're probably right. That's just what the person told me when I had a similar issue. I would format it in the phone.
     
  5. picord

    picord Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    245
    35
    43
    Male
    Automotive Wholesale Parts Purchaser
    Northern Ca. Bay Area
    What brand card are you using?
    I read that some users including myself that are using Sandisk cards were having the same issue. I used the card (different brand) from my tablet and the issue went away. I contacted Sandisk and returned my card for warranty. I haven't had the issue since with the new card
     

Share This Page

Loading...