1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [UNOFFICIAL][CAF][4.4.4] Omnirom Beta 2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by whoshotjr2006, Feb 18, 2015.

  1. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113
    WiFi has been solid since..idk what happened.
     

    Advertisement

    whoshotjr2006 likes this.
  2. aethervagrant

    aethervagrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    92
    19
    18
    Male
    Health Care
    California
    flashed over the CM12 beta, though i i did wipe. No issues installing, seems to run and boot fast. I actually like a lot of the settings more than the Cyanogenmod. Wifi sms, mms, camera, buttons (except lights) all seem to work. In fact although Im excited about Lollipop Id say this is the better daily driver for now. Unfortunately Ill come back to it later and check it out again, but I forgot that the PA gapps i downloaded are 5.0 only. I'd be happy to flash a new build or even this one again in the next day or two, especially if there's anything you still want or need tested.
     
  3. aethervagrant

    aethervagrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    92
    19
    18
    Male
    Health Care
    California
    Reinstalled it because I like the interface and options better than CM12 and I want xposed modules back.
    Having trouble activating, gettings texts to send now.
    dialer code ##UPDATE# gives back a "mobile network not available" error
    and im recieving texts but none will send and i cant make outgoing calls.
    ------
    Ive tried dialer coding to toggle lte on and off, but it seems i havent and cant activate my device. is there a dialer code im missing thats not in the Dialer Codes thread?
     
  4. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    I was playing with this ROM last night at work, but it kept rebooting itself, sometimes on it's own, always when I try to uninstall an app. Also, listening to music with Apollo, the sound would sometimes go out momentarily. I would love to try this again after another update
     
  5. aethervagrant

    aethervagrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    92
    19
    18
    Male
    Health Care
    California
    Terribly Sorry. The issues I was experiencing were not ROM related, jut reception. Apparently it takes a certain amount of consistent reception for the phone to auto update certain settings. Until I had service I couldnt tell what was reception and what was something else. As soon as I got closer to town the phone automatically activated, mobile data and sms working fine. I was confused about how CM was getting texts but not Omni, but I had already activated and updated my apns and prl on CM and Id dirty flashed it so it seemed to keep those settings the next time I flashed it.
    In the last few hours though I havent encountered anything I want omni to do that it wont, though granted, i dont use nfc, bluetooth, or voice commands. I usually uninstall those things soon after tossing in a new rom
    ....
    ill check out uninstalling things to see if I encounter the same problem.
    running the new Omni, no major themes or mods, just smart launcher and textra, used AirDroid to transfer files, all cameras working, ill make sure mms and video recording etc work as expected over the next day. But so far feels like the debloated Stock ROM but with many options id use xposed modules to get just built into the settings. Also the icons and menus are easier to parse than CM12
     
  6. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    Any luck fixing the security settings? That's kind of a big issue for me
     
  7. aethervagrant

    aethervagrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    92
    19
    18
    Male
    Health Care
    California
    Security settings work for me. Install unknown apps, no crash, been able to download apks and install them. Maybe fixed with yesterdays update?
     
  8. whoshotjr2006

    whoshotjr2006 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    680
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012

    Jul 31, 2012
    680
    1,252
    283
    Male
    electrical/computer engineer
    Ohio
    Yep security settings should be fixed, I had to write a script to chmod 0644 keymaster files in etc/firmware and since then its been working.
     
    aethervagrant and Sands207 like this.
  9. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    Yeah, I installed the latest update and things are working great!
     
    whoshotjr2006 likes this.
  10. aethervagrant

    aethervagrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    92
    19
    18
    Male
    Health Care
    California
    Running into my first major issue -- after about 24hrs of use, It constantly reboots or powers down. Whenever the screen turns off the phone is powered down and has to boot back up. It happens whether screen-offs automatically or when pressing the power button. I havent added any mods, xposed, build.prop edits, or apps other than the PA 4.4 nano gapps and Spotify and textra. I tried clearing dalvik/cache, dirty reflashing and clean installing, so far the same issue occurs immediately, although the rom felt smooth and bug free for the first day.
    I'll take suggestions as this has been my favorite balance of fast, customizable, stable and easy read/access.
    I may try doing a full wipe of internal storage or trying another rom to be sure its an issue with Omni and not hardware.
    -------
    edit: no idea what i did different, but I tried wiping and reinstalling again, along with su and gapps and this time (for the last few minutes anyway) I can screen off now without the phone powering down. I'll try to install as little as possible and keep it for a while in case I run into the same problem again
    ----
    reboot>recovery still soft reboots. the reboots I was getting earlier looked to mostly be soft reboots or Safe Modes, though it can be hard to tell because this rom seems to load faster than stock or cm. Reboot>Recovery seems to work with some third party apps but not others.
     
    #35 aethervagrant, Mar 1, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2015
  11. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    Trying to adjust automatic brightness setting causes settings to crash
     
  12. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    I still get occasional music playback issues, a random second long feedback sound. Doesn't happen too often, minor annoyance. I'm using the latest version of viper, converted to system app
     
  13. donjuro

    donjuro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013

    Mar 29, 2013
    1,036
    270
    163
    Male
    Aurora, IL
    Our phone doesn't have the sensor for automatic brightness. That's why the stock ROM doesn't even have the option.
     
    CrimsonToker likes this.
  14. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    I could have sworn I had it on stock zv3 when I first got the phone, but it's been so long now I can't remember for sure lol
     
  15. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    I turned on the data traffic monitor when still on an older version, and dirty flashed with the newest update. After that, I can't turn data monitor off, and also can't use tweak apps to make stock battery icon disappear. Minor issues, but thought I'd let you know all the same


    Edit: even with third party camera app, rear camera still won't work, either
     
    #40 CrimsonToker, Mar 2, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2015
    EmoUzuma likes this.
  16. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    That's funny because now the ROM is auto dimming itself to the lowest brightness setting when I turn the screen off. It's really causing problems, and annoying the crap out of me. Flashing deodexed zv5 later
     
  17. whoshotjr2006

    whoshotjr2006 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    680
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012

    Jul 31, 2012
    680
    1,252
    283
    Male
    electrical/computer engineer
    Ohio
    Just remember, this is a beta. It still has a lot of problems to be worked out.
     
    CrimsonToker likes this.
  18. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    Yeah, sorry, that was other frustrations coming out in the wrong way. I apologize. This ROM is actually great, very stable. The auto dimming issue actually fixed itself, oddly enough. The rear camera not working is kind of an issue, but otherwise not having too much trouble. One thing that is kind of bothering me is that a lot of my gravity box tweaks are not working or having any discernable affect. I haven't made a list of which tweaks are not working, but it's a few


    Edit: apparently a few xposed modules are not working for me now
     
    #43 CrimsonToker, Mar 4, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2015
    whoshotjr2006 likes this.
  19. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,848
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,848
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Try a different camera app. I have working rear camera on Candy using Nexus KitKat camera from the play store.
     
  20. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    I've tried a few cameras and have had no luck yet. Was looking at candy thread. What's unique or special about that ROM?
     
  21. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,848
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,848
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    It's just another option. I ran it for a couple days. Nothing really stood out as unique, although there was very little I would've changed about the interface. It's nice, very smooth, but there were some issues I couldn't work with and had to go back to KitKat.

    Try this camera. It worked for me on Candy.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.radcam.camera
     
  22. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    The sound issues are getting more frequent for me
     
  23. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    I flashed back to rooted zv5, and immediately see a performance downgrade compared to Omnirom. Im really looking forward to more updates for this rom soon! Thanks to any devs working on it
     
  24. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,848
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,848
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    You could try switching to ART... You can't use Xposed and Chromecast can't screen cast, but performance is better. I think this is why these ROMs perform so much better, Lollipop is ART.

    There's also some optimized dalvik libraries on XDA you can try. If you use them, let us know if it works well.
     
    CrimsonToker likes this.
  25. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    Any updates with the omni? :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...