1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root unrEVOked3 Rooting Issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SomeOldHobo, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. SomeOldHobo

    SomeOldHobo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I recently got a Incredible and i have been having issues trying to root. I followed these instructions (http://androidforums.com/incredible...ked-3-rooting-stock-incredible-evo-2-2-a.html) to the letter and when i run unrEVOked3 it does nothing. I did follow the driver instructions exactly and what i saw in device manager matches the screenshots in the instructions. I am using a Win7 64 machine.

    The exact issues is that when i run unrEVOked3 it does nothing except show the message "failed to kill adb service". I have searched and this is the closes thing i can find to my issue (Unrevoked "failed to kill adb service" - xda-developers). Except that adb.exe is not running in task manager.

    I am not new to rooting, i have successfully rooted my droid Eris and my droid X without any issue. I was actually hoping to find another method than using unrEVOked3 but i would be just as happy if i could get it to work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
  3. SomeOldHobo

    SomeOldHobo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I have quadruple checked everything and I still can not get it to work. Attached is a screenshot of where i am stuck. It just stays on this screen. Do I need to use the custom recovery and get a pre-rooted image file?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      53.5 KB
      Views:
      14
  4. SomeOldHobo

    SomeOldHobo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Ill try this Win 7 32bit labtop i got lying around and a Linux netbook if that does not work. I was thinking that the problem may be all the stuff i did to my Eris. I bet the ADB drivers are messing it up. I did delete them and use the correct ones but it still just sits on that screen. Ill report back once i try it on the other computers.
     
  5. SomeOldHobo

    SomeOldHobo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    So using my labtop worked perfectly. It must have been some driver issue with htc sink (which i removed) and all of the driver i ever installed for my Eris.
     

Share This Page

Loading...