1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Unroot from phone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zarem, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. zarem

    zarem Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    74
    8
    16
    Michigan
    OK I was looking at ways of unrooting if need be and was wondering if there is a way to do it on the phone it self?

    Can I download a terminal emulator like Gscript and type in the comands or do I need to do it from my computer?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nunyazz

    nunyazz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    644
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    644
    90
    98
    http://androidforums.com/fascinate-...nate-no-matter-what-jan-11th-2011-update.html

    How To Remove Root from DL09, simple and easy. This is really as simple as it can get. You don't even have to use a computer.

    1) Download "Terminal Emulator" from the Android Market. It's called Terminal Emulator and it's free :)

    2) Open Terminal Emulator
    Type the following code in this order. Press the curved arrow key after each line you type (that's the "enter" button, bottom right of keyboard).


    su
    mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
    rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
    rm /system/xbin/busybox
    rm /system/xbin/su
    rm /system/bin/busybox
    mount -t rfs -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
    exit
    exit

    3) Hit the back arrow a few times to fully back out of the app.

    4) You are UNROOTED! :)
    Go check by opening one of your apps that asks for root access such as Titanium Backup or ROM Manager.
     
    zarem likes this.
  3. zarem

    zarem Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    74
    8
    16
    Michigan
    That's what I was hoping I could do. Thanks again :D
     
  4. starscream84

    starscream84 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    16
    2
    16
    banking
    Phx
    Hey there, just browsing by and saw your post, don't forget that the post above removed superuser, but I'm guessing you had clockwork recovery installed also, that would still be on the phone and I believes it blocks updates. Didn't know if you were selling or returning the phone but I just didn't want you to forget about replacing the stock recovery also.:)

    P.S. I think Odin is the best way to flash the stock recovery, just search for adryns go back to stock Odin thread I know its on xda not sure if someone brought it here. :)
     
  5. zarem

    zarem Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    74
    8
    16
    Michigan
    Actually i don't have clock work on there i never got around to doing that yet. I rooted it then work and live stuff dragged me away from getting that downloaded.But thanks anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...