1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

unroot without pc Help.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eliander250, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    Hello guys, I need help on unrooting my SGS2 but I have to do it without my pc because the pc is not recognizing my phone and that is because there are some issues with the phone's port.
    The phone is charging superslow its so bad that if i start using it while charging it loses charge just for searching the web. I want to send it back to be fixed since i have my warranty from samsung but i need to unroot it first. I already use triangle away so they don't find out I have root it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    First off have you tried getting a new usb cable? I have had those go bad before causing all kinds of problems. Secondly try a different pc to install the kies drivers on then get the return to stock going. This is assuming the port on your phone is not physically broken. Depending on what ROM you have now, you could try Mobile Odin and flash stock ROM with it (making sure you uncheck ever root, inject SU, and intect Mobile Odin).

    Codegerm
     
  3. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    Well i used 7 different usb cables also my car's charger (my car charger doesn't charge it at all) so i am pretty sure is a hardware problem and I've have try in 4 different pcs. I will try mobile odin and see how that goes. Thanks man appreciated the help.
     
  4. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    Well i did download mobile odin and it's telling me my devise is not supported although the sgs2 epic4g n710 from sprint is supported. Also, i am only rooted no custom rom on my device.
     
  5. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    Should i flashed a custom rom and which one to make it work? I don't really want to install a custom rom but if thats what it takes to go back to stock..... I'll do it.
     
  6. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    Well Mobile Odin didn't recognize my phone on the stock ROM. I believe it is due to the stock ROM reporting the model number with BST added on the end. Once I had gone to FK23 that issue cleared. If Mobile Odin doesn't recognize your phone as one of the supported phones, you could try editing your build prop to not have the BST in the model number. You should then be able to flash the stock tar file for your phone.
     
  7. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    Ok i will see if i can find a guide to do this and let you know how it goes.
     
  8. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL

    If you are going to edit your build prop due to Mobile Odin not recognizing the phone as compatible, it is in the /system folder. you have to be rooted to make changes to it and it can be done using ES file manager's text editor. You have to enable the root option in the app and make system writable to make changes then change it back to read only when done (this is done through the app's settings). It is a pain when the port on your phone is messed up for sure. Another option is if you have accident insurance on the thing (whoops)
     
  9. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD


    Ok I have everything I need now my question is, how exactly do I edit the build pro to not have BST? well what do i have to write in the buildpro? what sentence is it that i have to change? should i post my buildpro here?
     
  10. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    you will see the model number in it in several places build.prop is a text file so editing it is the same as just deleting the BST in the model number
     
  11. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    So basically all I do is write this ro.product.model=sph-d710 instead of ro.product.model=sph-d710BST.
    just the model or everywhere it says sph-d710BST?
    Another thing when i go to /system/ I have a build.prop and a build.prop.bak, they are the same i check so do i edit both or what?
     
  12. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    the bak file is a backup of the build prop. you can remove the backup file
     
  13. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    Ok so I did delete the BST and now my phone is somewhat brick. it turns on and stays on the samsung logo and thats all.... I can get into cmw and odin but i still cannot connect it to the pc to unroot with odin and for some reason i tried flashing a rom with cmw but its not working it says that it failes to flash it or something. Should i just give up???
     
  14. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    do you have cwm or AGAT recovery? you could flash a FL04 or FK23 install and that will run Mobile Odin from there you should be able to get back to a stock ROM
     
  15. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    I have AGAT_Recovery tREC_v0.2.2
    So I am assumming i just have to out it in the sdcard and install zip from sdcard. ill be back as soon as i get the file.
     
  16. Atma

    Atma Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Hi folks. I moved this to the All Things Root forum.

    Hope you get it straightened out eliander. :) Looks like you're in good hands with Codegerm.
     
  17. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    Okay many ROMs won't flash with AGAT, but it is easy to use AGAT to flash in a kernel with CWM (such as EL29) from there you could flash another CWM flashble ROM. the install instructions for installing the ROM should be followed, and most start with using EL29. So you should be able to get your phone back to a useable state
     
  18. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD
    thanks i hope so too and yea he is extremely helpful!
     
  19. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD

    Just to make sure i don it right, would you mind posting the link where i can get EL29 i don't want to mess it up anymore than what it is. I found some kernels here but i can't find EL29. I found EL26 here should i use it?
    Just to make things clear i am not even sure if i am doing any of this right i have little experience so just to make sure i am assuming i have to flash the kernel EL29 with AGAT, right?
     
  20. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    eliander250 likes this.
  21. eliander250

    eliander250 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    47
    0
    15
    Male
    Parkville, MD



    alright man my phone is back working i somehow have sprint written all over it so about the repository f122 do i put it on my sdcard and flash it with cwm or do i use mobile odin? i am assuming i am still running since i have supersu.
     
  22. Codegerm

    Codegerm Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,753
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    3,753
    1,266
    413
    Male
    Commercial service Technician for ADT
    Gainesville, FL
    the only FI22 ROMs I see in the repository are either one click rooted (requiring a pc) or the original tar md5 file that would be an Odin thing.

    On another note which ROM did you get going and have you checked your usb port since the new ROM?

    I'm glad you got your phone booted back up
     
  23. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Mobile odin didnt work for mine on stock either... umm I have an idea. Flash supersu on your phone to replace super user. Supersu has An option for full unroot. Ill see if I can find you a zip in a few minutes
     
  24. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
  25. SelfElevated2

    SelfElevated2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,335
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    1,335
    527
    213
    Male
    Auto mechanic
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I actually just flashed it myself to switch su apps..
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...