1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support update failure

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by filking, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. filking

    filking Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Hi,
    I have a rooted Acer a100 and am having trouble with Ics update. It downloads the 188mb file, then reboots. I get the green android with the clogs turning, then the clogs change to a '!' Symbol. It hangs for about 30 secs then reboot with update filed message.

    Any help out there or are there any update logs i could look at to help me.

    Ta
     

    Advertisement

  2. redrobin315

    redrobin315 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I'm having the same problem, cant update. Any help is welcome. THX
     
  3. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    that update u guys r talking about is it a ota
     
  4. redrobin315

    redrobin315 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    yes, is the OTA in my case
     
  5. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    oh k cool well I was running ics beta 4.0.3 I did a factory reset now I have the official ics update maybe u wanna do it like that just my opinion
     
  6. filking

    filking Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Some people saying build.prop is corrupt or changed. Haven't changed mine but where is it? Also are there any log files i can look at.
     
  7. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    the only way to read log files if ur rooted
     
  8. redrobin315

    redrobin315 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    ok, how i can access the log files??
     
  9. filking

    filking Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    ditto, i am rooted. Where be said logs?:)
     
  10. filking

    filking Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    My build.proc is -
    # begin build properties # autogenerated by buildinfo.sh ro.build.id=HTK55D ro.build.display.id=Acer_A100_2.013.01_COM_GEN1 ro.build.system.id=Acer_A100_2.013_COM_GEN1 ro.build.version.incremental=1331292158 ro.build.version.sdk=13 ro.build.version.codename=REL ro.build.version.release=3.2.1 ro.build.date=Fri Mar 9 19:23:20 CST 2012 ro.build.date.utc=1331292200 ro.build.type=user ro.build.user= ro.build.host=lion ro.build.tags=release-keys ro.build.sku=COM_GEN1 ro.product.model=A100 ro.product.brand=acer ro.product.name=vg_gen1 ro.product.device=vangogh ro.product.board=vangogh ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi-v7a ro.product.cpu.abi2=armeabi ro.product.manufacturer=Acer ro.product.locale.language=en ro.product.locale.region=US ro.wifi.channels= ro.board.platform=tegra # ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device ro.build.product=vangogh # Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint ro.build.description=vg_gen1-user 3.2.1 HTK55D 1331292158 release-keys ro.build.fingerprint=acer/vg_gen1/vangogh:3.2.1/HTK55D/1331292158:user/release-keys ro.build.characteristics=tablet # end build properties ro.opengles.version = 131072 wifi.interface=wlan0 keyguard.no_require_sim=1

    ro.dinfo.version=1.0 ro.cpu.vendor=nVidia ro.cpu.speed=1.0 GHz ro.cpu.version=T20

    # # ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES # ro.config.notification_sound=OnTheHunt.ogg ro.config.alarm_alert=Alarm_Classic.ogg dalvik.vm.heapstartsize=5m dalvik.vm.heapgrowthlimit=48m dalvik.vm.heapsize=256m ro.com.google.clientidbase=android-acer acer.sync.adb.mode=ENABLED ro.error.receiver.system.apps=com.acer.android.nidus drm.service.enabled=true ro.product.modelalias=A100 ro.tether.denied=true ro.setupwizard.mode=REQUIRED ro.com.google.gmsversion=3.2_r6 dalvik.vm.dexopt-flags=m=y net.bt.name=Android dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt
     
  11. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    but y do u want the log files for I'm saying just factory reset ur phone and u will automatically get the update ;)
     
  12. redrobin315

    redrobin315 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    did the factory reset, I download the 188 Mb file, run the unzip, then the restart, green Android and gears for 25% aprox. then green Android and yellow exclamation, 20 sec later it restarts then the Update Failed message.

    Any ideas??? =S
     
  13. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    that's wired cuz I didn't except the update but when I factory reset I got the update
    try putting the ics beta then try again c if that works I had the beta before doing a factory reset

    here goes the beta ics

    http://androidforums.com/acer-iconia-tab-a100/504210-rom-official-ics-4-0-3-leak-download-now.html
     
    redrobin315 likes this.
  14. redrobin315

    redrobin315 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
  15. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
     
  16. filking

    filking Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    grrrrrrrr don't want to factory reset and lose stuff. Oh well, stuck with 3.2 then
     
  17. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    just back everything up
     
  18. filking

    filking Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Can't backup planner/Calender (or don't know how, sync never worked). My loss i spose. Just a shame my tab is different to others. :(
     
  19. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    well sh@% I'm having problems rooting my device after update I wanna root it again so I could put custom rom and kernel :(
     
  20. filking

    filking Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Not looking good for us is it.
     
  21. redrobin315

    redrobin315 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    ok, got it, It worked!!!!, thx mrpnut.

    only need to root.
     
  22. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    k cool bro don't forget to hit that button lol let me know if. u was an
    e to root it cuz I couldn't
     
  23. redrobin315

    redrobin315 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012

    Apr 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    got root working!! I used this method on this site
    Full root for A100 ICS. Simple method. - xda-developers

    i don't know if i'm allowed to post a link to another forum, my apologies if what i did is wrong
     
  24. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    I tryed that one and my sh#& stays on daemon started successfully and just stay there for about 5mins and nothing happens hmmm
     
  25. muhman100

    muhman100 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have also a rooted A100
    there is an update with only 19.61MB (2.013.02)
    but after aborting the turning wheels i got the message update fail
    is there an original acer a100 ics update for download?

    even a reset doesn fixed the failure
     

Share This Page

Loading...