1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Update pushed to Infuse tonight

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by garak0410, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. garak0410

    garak0410 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    47
    0
    15
    Arkansas
    Anyone else get it? Mine installed successfully bit no idea what it fixed...perhaps the broswer/gallery lockups...
     

    Advertisement

  2. halo0

    halo0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    75
    4
    16
    Software
    Ann Arbor
    Mine has tried to connect a few times and there is a 2 diagonal arrows (blue/red) icon in the task bar and the notification says "Device management" but each time it has failed. I just recently started getting the browser lockup problem.
     
  3. somanyapps

    somanyapps Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    172
    5
    36
    VA
    I think I'm having the same problem. It can not connect to the AT&T server.
     
  4. Rwestiv

    Rwestiv Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    49
    4
    36
    West of the Mississippi
    It appears that I'm also having a problem with the update.

    It's been saying that "The download fo rthe software update will begin in a moment." for about 30 minutes and the pinwheel just keeps spinning.

    If your phone is rooted will it affect the update?
     
  5. Rwestiv

    Rwestiv Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    49
    4
    36
    West of the Mississippi
    Well, I did a battery pull and then when the phone booted back up it gave me the message that there is a software update, and did I want to install it. I did and it seems to be working fine.

    I'm with garak0410, not sure what it did.

    GBA
     
  6. somanyapps

    somanyapps Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    172
    5
    36
    VA
    What I'm not sure about is whether my trouble connecting to the server has anything to do with the update. It doesn't say it is having trouble with the update. It is in connecting to AT&T. I just got this phone. Was there something I (or the person who set up the phone) was supposed to do in order to connect?

    Edit: After not connecting to AT&T it is now telling me the software is up-to-date and I can not retry for 24 hours.
     
  7. somanyapps

    somanyapps Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    172
    5
    36
    VA
    I powered it off, then back on. Mine just keeps telling me that the connection failed.
     
  8. Rwestiv

    Rwestiv Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    49
    4
    36
    West of the Mississippi
    Can you make phone calls?

    Is there any connection at all?
     
  9. halo0

    halo0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    75
    4
    16
    Software
    Ann Arbor
    On mine everything else works normally.
     
  10. trido

    trido Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    police scanner sales
    I may be wrong on this but ONLY way it worked for me you must have cell data ON.I allways have it off and got cant connect to server. HOWEVER after turning data on it connects went fine I dont think att updates can be over wifi.
    I hope these area free update as far as data usage.
    No idea what it fixed.

    Trido
     
  11. halo0

    halo0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    75
    4
    16
    Software
    Ann Arbor
    Cell data? You mean you leave the 3G radio off? I don't think most people do that.
     
  12. somanyapps

    somanyapps Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    172
    5
    36
    VA
    Everything else works as far as I know. Tried calling ATT and eventually they transferred me to Samsung. Not sure if they understood the problem or not, although ATT did something and now I don't see an error. However, I can not recheck the update for 24 hours. I was told by Samsung that I have the latest firmware, 2.2.1. Mine is a new phone, so I guess it already had the latest, but the error had to do with the connection, or at least that is what it said. Really don't know if I still have a problem or not.
     
  13. trido

    trido Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    police scanner sales
    I meant for upgrade cell data3g must be ON.
    I leave mine off and only use wifi but for upgrade it needs 3g data.
    Trido
     
  14. halo0

    halo0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    75
    4
    16
    Software
    Ann Arbor
    Why have a smartphone if you aren't going to use the data? You're paying for it anyway...
     
  15. Mr. Eli

    Mr. Eli Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Does anyone know what the update was for? I just got the update right now.
     
  16. rjan22

    rjan22 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    12
    2
    16
    Remember OTA update must be on 4g not wifi, turn off wifi and go to a location where you have good 3g signal and bam
     
  17. Rockinfigs

    Rockinfigs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    286
    21
    38
    That's stupid
     
  18. halo0

    halo0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    75
    4
    16
    Software
    Ann Arbor
    I've been on HSPA+ all day and my phone isn't even trying to dl it anymore like it was yesterday. I can't find any info on what this update even is!
     
  19. togethersjg

    togethersjg Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks. When I was on wifi the update simply showed a connection problem. When I went to the cellular data service it installed without an issue.
     
  20. halo0

    halo0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    75
    4
    16
    Software
    Ann Arbor
  21. hpjack433

    hpjack433 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Programmer
    atlanta
    mine got installed today without any issue, but don't know what was that update for?
    any ideas?
     
  22. halo0

    halo0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    75
    4
    16
    Software
    Ann Arbor
    Did you bother to read the story at the link I posted? That's all that seems to be known at the moment.
     
  23. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA
    A couple of tips to share.

    1) AT&T pushes updates to all their phones on a somewhat regular basis. These are cellular system updates that are delivered late at night when traffic on the network is lower.

    If your phone is on, you will not get the update. A normal practice to adopt is to be sure to turn it off, wait ten seconds, then turn it back on.
    This will trigger the system to send it.

    These are designed to improve connectivity and other minor improvements.
    It's an ongoing program.

    2) Next are the OTA Android updates that are being discussed here.

    Many people turn their phones off frequently and don't realize this situation described in number one is happening. AT&T doesn't talk about it, because it's an ongoing benefit of their genuine desire to improve.

    The Android Updates go much faster and successfully if you've been receiving the system updates.

    Just remember that both 1 & 2 are pushed over the air (OTA) via your 3G connection only.

    Hope this helps you.

    Oh, one last thought. If you Android update doesn't execute properly, don't be alarmed. Just go into settings and ask it to try again.

    Remember its just a radio and subject to interference, so expect to try more than once if it fails at first. Usually the second time it goes fine.
     
  24. strodda

    strodda Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    281
    51
    53
    Male
    to those that have updated, does it de-root the phone?
     
  25. Rwestiv

    Rwestiv Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    49
    4
    36
    West of the Mississippi
    Nope my phone is still rooted no problems as far as I can tell.
     

Share This Page

Loading...