1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Update while rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kool kat2, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA
    I rooted my x with z4root and did nothing else. I found out about the GB ota and decided to wait for it. I didnt bother unrooting. Now i tried to play a game ( demon hunter) and it says "cant play game on rooted device". I also saw that i had the superuser icon in my app drawer. I thought i would lose root. An i rooted or is this a glitch? I also tried to use shoot me but it didnt detect root.

    Edit: z4 gives me an unroot option... this is very confusing
     

    Advertisement

  2. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA
    Does anyone know what's going on? I've searched but can't find anything.... maybe I just can't search right....:thinking:
     
  3. MrBojenglz

    MrBojenglz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    78
    2
    16
    NJ
    I would try running a program that requires root like Wireless Tether and see if it works. If it does then you must still be rooted. Let me know if it works cuz i'm still on froyo with the z4 root and I want to update.
     
  4. bubbaken

    bubbaken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    191
    44
    43
    NY
    I was rooted on .340 and updated via ota expecting to lose root as well. I was surprised to see I am rooted after the update.

    Must be a glitch because I get "permission denied" using the suggestion in the following post.

    ;)
     
  5. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    To verify if you are or are not rooted:
    Download a terminal emulator
    open the terminal
    type SU
    if the $ changes to # then you are rooted.

    If your still rooted or unsure, SBF .340
     
    kool kat2 and bubbaken like this.
  6. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA

    The hotspot hack from the TBH app worked. I must still be rooted then. I cant get any screenshot apps to work though.
     
  7. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    you may need to reinstall busy box
     
  8. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA

    Can I do that separately or do I have to sbf and do it over again?
     
  9. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA

    Didn't change and says permission denied
     
  10. kidon

    kidon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    then you are not rooted
     
    kool kat2 likes this.
  11. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA
    Crazy. I tested out the 3g hack (TESTED) and it worked. I connected my xoom...... I guess sbf and do it over again?
     
  12. Raw Dodge

    Raw Dodge Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    192
    12
    38
    I had this happen when. 340 updated. Your going to need to sbf .tbh has the gingerbread sbf files....or do what I would. Sbf back to 2.2.340 and run the tbh zips to rooted w2.3.596.
     
    kool kat2 likes this.
  13. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA

    Nice to hear from someone who did this already. Thanks
     
  14. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA

    I guess we have to sbf
     
  15. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA
    Ok first time to sbf so just asking for some clarification. I read the sbf droid x sectiontion in rooler's guide and itseasy to follow but it doesnt say when to plug the phone in. Do i plug it to the computer?
     
  16. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    yes, plug it into the computer after you put it in bootloader mode.
     
  17. kool kat2

    kool kat2 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,019
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    1,019
    140
    163
    Male
    Carson, CA
    OK but the files I need will be on the phone right? And will something pop up on the computer?
     
  18. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    the SBF files need to be downloaded to your computer, or if you use the linux CD boot method, it will be in the release of linux for you.
    You either need RSD lite, or the "portable" linux method, all are available to you on this forum.
    Check RoOler's guide at the top of this section of the forum, and if that isn't clear enough for you, any one of the guides or members can help you out with this.
    We can get you where you wanna be, just let us know what you are unsure of.
     
  19. Raw Dodge

    Raw Dodge Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    192
    12
    38
    With my windows 7 64 bit,this is how I do it....its worked every time perfectly..Once the drivers are installed on the pc,simply boot the dx into bootloader,make sure it says ok to program,and open rsd lite on the pc...then plug in the phone...once plugged in,you will be able to browse for the sbf file on the pc,select it from whereever you saved it,and the start button should highlight,select it,and thats it....let it run and reboot at the end....then do a factory reset in stock recovery,and activate/sign in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...