1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root UPDATED *** 8-12-12 ***Rooted OTA (2.11.605.19) Files

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jrocker23, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. csmithrc

    csmithrc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Hi, i flashed the radio in hboot and got my baseband version updated to 1.48.00.0930w_3 & 0.01.78.0916w_3 but my software number is still 2.11.605.5. I am rooted with revolution and on the stock rom. Is there something else I need to do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    you have to flash the rooted rom in recovery
     
  3. csmithrc

    csmithrc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    When I try to reboot into recovery the hboot comes up and will not let me into recovery. Sorry, very new to this. Appreciate the help.
     
  4. proskier

    proskier Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

  5. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    you dont flash the files in this post through Hboot. There are not RUU files they are zip files and have to be flashed in recovery
     
  6. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY

    Did you install a recovery program?
     
  7. chaparro78

    chaparro78 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Dallas / Fort Worth
    I had the same issue when I woke up yesterday. This is what i did. I am also new at rooting but with reading on here I got the phone working.

    First thing I did was clear the cache.

    Then when the phone booted up and it asked me to update, I rejected.

    I downloaded MyBackupPro from App store ($2.99) and backed up my phone's apps and data on the net.

    I copied all my pictures and videos to my computer.

    Idownloaded ROM Manager from AppStor, was free, to flash the ROM.

    I used this tutorial from youtube on how to flash the rom.
    How to Install Custom Roms Onto The HTC Thunderbolt - YouTube
    I used the second method that starts at 2:22.

    The ROM I used is the one that Jrocker23 provided from his website:
    **UPDATED 12-19-2011** Ginger BreadRock V3.0 & 3.1 AVAILABLE NOW - HTC Thunderbolt

    Jrocker23 has2 ROMS, a full rooted version of the update Version3.0 or a stripped down rooted version with no Verizon crapware Version3.1 (that's the one I used).

    After the new V3.1 was installed. i downloaded the new radios (also from JRocker23 website) and used this youtube video on how to install them
    How To Flash Radios To The HTC Thunderbolt - YouTube

    After that I had a workingTB with the new updates. The phone was like new and everything was wiped. I redownloaed the MybackupPro APP and restored all my Apps and data that I had saved earlier and bam, everything is good to go. Thanks JRocker23 for the ROM and radio. :D
     
  8. csmithrc

    csmithrc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I finally just renamed the otacerts.zip file and it makes the update fail.
     
  9. sarsho

    sarsho Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    23
    0
    15
    Jrocker23 - I have the same issue as nk00, the VZW .9 update has been downloaded and the install deferred. I installed your debloated ROM and new radio - thanks for those everything seems to be working great - tried re-wiping the cache partition and davick cache after the rom install, but this does not remove the impending install (at least as shown in menu-settings-Software update-install deferred sw). I was able to find and rename the otacerts.zip file as you suggested, but I cannot locate the "fumo" folder. Is there another location for that folder, or what is the name of the file that needs to be deleted so i can search for that, I cannot search for the folder name. Thanks for your assistance.

    New Info: I took Digdug1's suggestion and through CWR wiped the partition and dalvik caches and reflashed your rom, but that did not solve the problem either. I will note that after changing the name of the otacerts file the phone boots faster/clears the TB splash screen faster.
     
  10. billd1954

    billd1954 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Mass
    Hi Jrocker23,

    I'm new to rooting!! I followed your instructions and everything worked great!! Just wanted to say THANK YOU!
     
  11. TambourineMan

    TambourineMan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    213
    9
    36
    I understand how installing a rooted OTA 2.11.605.9 will prevent a VZW OTA update for this 2.11.605.9 versin but what happens when VZW pushes a n even newer version. Is there a way to prevent or permanently defer future OTA updates? now that I am rooted I do not want to lose root, but I am not yet into custom ROMS (if those prevent OTA updates).
     
  12. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY

    use root explorer to find the file otcerts.zip and rename to otcerts.bak
     
  13. TambourineMan

    TambourineMan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    213
    9
    36
    Thanks jrocker23.

    A related question. I see there are two versions of the rooted 2.11.605.9 update. One is stock and the other is without all VZW's bloatware apps (except one).

    Is there a way to pick and choose which VZW's just using root explorer (without flashing a new update) and just renaming the app(s) i don't want similar to renaming otacerts.zip, such as the golf program?
     
  14. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    You can install the full version, then use titanium backup to back up all apps u dont want and then delete them. If you want the app again, just restore the back up....
     
  15. hackler22s

    hackler22s Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Newb to rooting, but I rooted my TB lastnight with your GingerBread Rock V3.1.2.11.605.9. Updated my radio as well. Only problem I am having now is that I can't seem to find the otcerts.zip file in my root explorer anywhere. I would like to make it where it won't update when they push another OTA. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
     
  16. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    Yoru dont have anything to worry about. You wont get the update and if u did, it will fail. if you do get prompted, just search for otacerts.zip again and rename it otacerts.bak
     
    hackler22s likes this.
  17. hackler22s

    hackler22s Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the help and the quick reply!!! Much appreciated!
     
  18. MDeLiso

    MDeLiso Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    16
    4
    16
    Long Island, NY
    I just used the radio file and the debloated rom that you put up and did everything successfully. The only problem is, now I have no wifi. Whenever I try to click wifi on, it says error. Is there a fix for this?

    - EDIT - Sorry, nevermind, I have no idea but it just started working on its own randomly. Sorry for post.
     
  19. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    No problem, glad its working. If u have anymore issues (hopefully not :) ), just let me know
     
  20. hackler22s

    hackler22s Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012

    Jan 14, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Is there any kernels available for this ROM? Never flashed a kernel but interested in over clocking. Thanks!
     
  21. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    Any standard gingerbread kernal should work, just make sure its for stock gb and not for a specific rom...
     
  22. tgfdroid

    tgfdroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    So if i have an unrooted .9 image I can just download the file rename it to PG05IMG and place it on the root of the SD card and install it from the bootloader without any other effort?

    or

    Do I have to roll back to an older image and root it then apply the file?
     
  23. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    You have to roll back to .5 and root your phone & install clockwork recovery (or any recovery you like) then flash one of the above files in recovery
     
    tgfdroid likes this.
  24. whitewallman

    whitewallman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Any need to flash your 30a if i've successfully flashed your prior 2.11.605.9 file and radios?
     
  25. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    359
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    You dont have to. I just updated the wifi app, made the rom run a litter faster and smoother and renamed the otacerts file...

    You can flash over without a data wipe if u want but no major changes..
     

Share This Page

Loading...