1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Updated Droid to 2.2 now terrible reception

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nomadz, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. nomadz

    nomadz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    So 2 weeks ago, i updated my droid to Froyo/2.2 and my reception has went in the toilet. I can't even talk in my house anymore... Can anyone help.

    I didn't do an OTA update, i followed a website that was for VZW which is my carrier and said it was the same update. No custom roms or any custom software....

    MIN 3309909987 (not my phone number)
    PRL 40067
    Signal Strength -83 dBm 0 asu
    Mobile network type CDMA - EvDo rev .A
     

    Advertisement

  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,114
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,114
    13,040
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Have you done a *228 option 2? That's where I would start...
     
  3. nomadz

    nomadz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    i've tried that on more than one occasion since this has happened and it hasnt helped. It's really weird, i used to get full signal in my basement or in my garage, now my call drops very often.. I have dropped less than 10 calls since i've gotten my droid before 2 weeks ago.. Since i've done the udpate i drop 2-4 calls a day usually while i'm sitting still in my office or in my parking garage.
     
  4. Danielson2047

    Danielson2047 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    370
    34
    43
    Portage, WI
    What baseband are you on? (Settings--> About Phone)
     
  5. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    179
    8
    36
    RN
    SoCal
    I am having the same problem, except now the caller on the other end can not hear me at all and thinks the call has ended. I can hear them fine. I did the *228 and it has not helped at all. I am going to call Verizon and see if they can help me. The closest store for me to travel to for help is almost 2 hours away.
     
  6. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    this happened to me when we went from 2.0.1 to 2.1 and then I decided to root so I could pick my baseband and doing that, I got some better reception back. so, 1 fix is to change basebands and that requires root.
     
  7. nomadz

    nomadz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Baseband Version
    C_01.43.01P
    Kernal Version
    2.6.32.9-g103d848
    android-build@apa26 #1
    Build FRG01B
     
  8. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    That is the latest baseband file.

    If you haven't performed a Factory Reset after loading the update to 2.2, I would do that. Then you will be asked to make the activation call, which will reset your prl, and reprogram your phone to all the correct network settings.
     
  9. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    but the "latest" does not mean it is the best for you and your area. My buddy and I, living 2 blocks apart with Droids, had 2 different basebands and he got better signal in my house - I even took photos to prove it at the time.

    So, point is, in root, with Rom Manager, you can select and try different basebands and just because it is the newest it is better. try some, find out on your own what works. I did and found the "official" C_01.43.01P, as there was another C_01.43.01P that was different they found out, works better for me.
     
  10. nomadz

    nomadz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Going to try a factory reset as I really DO NOT want to ROOT this phone...
     

Share This Page

Loading...