1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Updates and Roots

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by smint, Feb 21, 2009.

  1. smint

    smint Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008

    Dec 3, 2008
    56
    9
    16
    Mechanical Engineer
    Chesterfield, UK
    If people are able to make rooted phone do so much, auto-rotate,
    multi touch, themes and app's saved to memory cards to name the
    major ones. Why do we have to wait so long for google to make them,
    Now I know there a greater problems with some of them, multi-touch
    And apps to memory create big problems with apple and app copying,
    But if the others can be done shouldn't they ba able to do them soon.

    Google will have tighter measures on testing and stuff but how much testing is needed
    Can't they use some of their codeing to help them or beta test stuff using the emulator's
     

    Advertisement

  2. Goooooooooogle

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009

    Google don't really care about people rooting their phones, they just don't want ordinary users to screw their phones up, which is why they don't come rooted.
     
  3. smint

    smint Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008

    Dec 3, 2008
    56
    9
    16
    Mechanical Engineer
    Chesterfield, UK
    I am thinking of rooting mine when rc9 comes out. Apart from having multi-touch, and auto rotate what day to day changes will there be.
    While I'm just doing my normal stuff I won't accidentally brick my phone will I. I have some understanding of all the goings on I just want to make sure.
    Has anyone here started putting apps on their sd card yet, and what's it like, speed wise.
     
  4. Zerodime

    Zerodime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009

    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Does anyone know the differences between RC31 and RC8? (or the american and UK version) and what version the germans have? I looked at my phone but there's nowhere listed what revision i have!
    It could be the firmware version, which would be 1.1?
     
  5. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Settings -> About phone will tell you all the information you need.
     
  6. Zerodime

    Zerodime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009

    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    I thought so, but where do i have to look?:
    Modelnumber, Firmware-version, Baseband-version, kernel-version, build-number ?
     
  7. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    The last 4 are the important ones. What kind of device (G1, ADP1) and where from?
     
  8. Zerodime

    Zerodime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009

    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    I'm from germany, I have a german phone and want to root it,
    The Data is as follows:
    Firmware-Version:
    1.1

    Basisband-Version:
    62.33.20.08U_1.22.12.29

    Kernel-Version:
    2.6.25-01843-gfea26b0
    android-build@apa27 #6

    Build-Nummer:
    123099


    (I hope it also helps other german users too
    as soon as i know which one is the equivalent of the RC* strings ;)
     
  9. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
  10. Goooooooooogle

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009

    The American version has a T-Mobile MyFaves thing... I think that's the only real difference.
     
  11. Zerodime

    Zerodime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009

    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Hmm i understand...a quick test showed that 'Im not allowed in bootloader-mode to put not compatible images on my phone...seems a little harder as it seems that the images are RSA saved...
     
  12. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    Add to that voice dial, different IM, locale settings such as the way telephone numbers are represented.
     
  13. Goooooooooogle

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009

    Yeah and that :p

    What's the difference between the US and UK IM programs then?
     
  14. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008

    Dec 2, 2008
    699
    49
    88
    Male
    Senior software developer
    UK
    The UK IM app is GTalk and GTalk alone.
     
  15. Goooooooooogle

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009

    Hmm... Never knew that.
     
  16. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
  17. Zerodime

    Zerodime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009

    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    the only problem now for me is that i don't have a compaqtible windows mobile device -.-
     
  18. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Yeah, that is a pretty crappy prerequisite, but if you have a friend with a winmo phone, at least it's possible.
     
  19. Zerodime

    Zerodime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009

    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    The ironic thing is: I have a WiMo device, but it can't use microSDs!
    so i have to see if i can get an adapter or something similar (and still pray if it works)
    I read somewhere where the hack was discovered, that it's more or less just a rewrite of the serialnumber of the card (however that works) and you have to use the wimo because you have exclusive access to the card.
    Kinda hard to understand if you read it and the guy who wrote the program you need is a little hesistant to show how he did it.



    Man i love google for what they have done, but couldn't they made it easier to gain root access? ^^'
    (I know that they won't and can't do that, but ... *sigh*)
     
  20. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Remember that it's not Google, it's the carrier of the phone.

    Also, if you're looking to test it out on your phone, let me know :) I'd love to help out.
     
  21. Zerodime

    Zerodime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009

    Jan 20, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Ah I know that T-Mobile dosn't want to have us root thats why I said "They can'T..."

    And I would like to try it out, but ether the device can't read my SD-card or the device dosn't allow to read the serial number from the SD-Card (and it seems i can't change the registry of the device)
    But i have a friend who could maybe help me...

    But another way to cange the SN of the SDCard would be prefered
     
  22. ChardoDrifter

    ChardoDrifter Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009

    Mar 4, 2009
    5
    0
    25
    what you need i got you
    miami,FL
    Just woundering RC33 is the latest update? Cause my phone came with it
     
  23. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    Yep, RC33 is the latest.
     

Share This Page

Loading...