1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Updating EVO questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ventada, Sep 5, 2011.

1. Ventada

Ventada Member

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Rxpert83

Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood

Many developers have updated their roms now that voice to text has been fixed. Also, there was recently a radio update as well that I found helped my signal a lot. However, I am not familiar with your ROM in particular because I'm fairly new to this as well. Check recent threads for more information about these.

You are correct that you should never accept an OTA, and its best to just have it so your phone doesnt check for them.

ocnbrze likes this.
  3. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

rxpert88 is correct you should never accept the ota since you are now rooted.

we just had an update a few weeks ago. it is software 4.53.651.1.

basically all an ota consists of is a software update and a radio update. (it might also update your hboot. that is why you should never accept an ota). you can just flash a rom that has the update included.

there is only the stock rooted rom available to flash as of right now but mikg2.5 has a patch that you can just flash and you will be updated. you can get them on the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/284413-roms-kernels-download-page.html

4. Ventada

Ventada Member

How do you update your radios?

5. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

before attempting to update your radios please read this:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...before-you-flash-your-radios-read-thread.html

do not let the warnings scare you, flashing them is pretty easy for the most part. but be aware of what you are getting into when you do do it.