1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Updating HTC Magic with Sense ROM

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by psl86, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. psl86

    psl86 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    I downloaded the update from the Taiwanese site (have a Taiwanese phone) but I can't install it on my HTC Magic. The installer can't find my phone, even though it is connected. By connected I mean that I can mount it, but I have the same sync problems as a lot of other people; HTC Sync does not work! I guess it is a driver problem or similar.. I am on Windows 7 x64 Professional, but I have also tested it on Vista x64 and XP x32. Looking for a windows 7 fix I guess.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Paal
     

    Advertisement

  2. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Hi PSL86 & Welcome to AF forums! :D

    Is this a Vodafone UK Magic or a "With Google" Magic? If so HTC Sync does not work with this phone model. it is only for HTC Magic's with a 32a Board , Vodafone's HTC Magic and "with Google" Magics are 32b hence not compatible {I beleive}

    Carl C :)
     
  3. psl86

    psl86 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    No, this is a unbranded phone..
     
  4. erind23

    erind23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    You should try to download from the support center a fix for HTC sync, it worked for me after installing that.
    Can u please upload the ROM in a sharing site. I am a swedish owner who hasn't the update available for download yet... :(((( They promised october, but it is already november now.
     
  5. moon_walker333

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    23
    0
    35
    Texas
    Hello friends,

    Does anyone knows when HTC Sense ROM udpate will be made available to HTC Magic (Rogers) devices in Canada ?? I guess those are 32A devices and do deserve the HTC Sense update...

    Please share if somebody knows. I see that Taiwan/Hong Kong has already got the Update... check this out - http://www.htc.com/hk-en/SupportViewNews.aspx?dl_id=765&news_id=355
     
  6. JackTheMan18

    JackTheMan18 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Sep 13, 2009
    61
    0
    15
    1. You can do this yourself if you wish to root your phone, and take your chances. goto xda-developers.net and research how.
    2. I'm not sure it is ever coming to the Rogers HTC Magic. They just let go their tech support staff!
    3. In order to get HTC Synch to work with windows 7, you have to manually install the vista X64 drivers, and install them in the right directory. Yes, it works, but it requires manual effort.
     
  7. psl86

    psl86 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    I actually found an XP machine instead...It wouldn't synch, but the ROM updater found my phone, so now my HTC Magic Singapore has Sense
     
  8. geebs

    geebs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Jacktheman18,

    Does the the rogers phone have to be unlocked?? and if you do what say above does the Wifi, bluetooth still work???
     
  9. JackTheMan18

    JackTheMan18 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Sep 13, 2009
    61
    0
    15
    -Most of the custom ROM's have wifi and bluetooth working; however look carefully on the particular thread at xda - what works, and what doesn't work; it depends on the rom.

    -remember again, that there is a risk of a bricked phone!
     

Share This Page

Loading...