1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Updating Profile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ebc1973, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. ebc1973

    ebc1973 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    99
    3
    16
    I have a question for those that have performed the Profile Update. How long is it supposed to take? I clicked on it, and it has been saying "Device Configuration. The Network is preparing your services..." for over a half hour now. I can hear the processor going crazy, so I know it is busy doing something. Is this an average time, or should it have been done faster?
     

    Advertisement

  2. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    you can HEAR the processor???
     
  3. ebc1973

    ebc1973 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    99
    3
    16
    Yes, if I put my ear close to the casing, I can hear it working. And it is working like mad. I am now coming to an hour, and it is still "updating". Should it be taking this long?
     
  4. probinson

    probinson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    122
    47
    43
    Those electrons can make a lot of noise.
     
  5. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,114
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,114
    3,784
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    no this should take no more than a couple minutes tops.

    you need to be in a good sprint coverage area. you cant use wifi, it must be thru sprints network.

    remove the battery for about 1 minute. reinstall then perform a profile update.

    are you rooted?
    do you have froyo?
    what PRL and PRI version are you running?
     
  6. ebc1973

    ebc1973 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    99
    3
    16
    Perhaps I have a hardware issue, because something is making a noise inside my EVO. It is very similar to a hard drive spinning. Much like the sound a desktop computer makes when processing information. It is not very loud, but there is a sound.
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I wonder if some software process is slightly insane, causing the vibration motor to respond - OR - there's a relay getting slapping hard that shouldn't be - there's already some insanity with the update not working.... just saying.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...