1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Updating superuser + binaries = loss of root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xthedakmanx, Jul 7, 2012.

  1. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    I'm using odexed stock rooted rom and whenever I update superuser and the binaries I totally lose root. Am I the only person having this issue?
     

    Advertisement

  2. GTWolf

    GTWolf Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    94
    20
    28
    Male
    The interwebs in FL
    I've heard others report this, but I haven't had the problem personally. Running the updated SU+binaries right now, my apps that need root are still getting it.
     
  3. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Update...
    I rebooted, cleared all caches, and still no root. So I just downloaded a flashable supersu from xda, flashed it, and got root back.

    So.


    In case this happens to anyone else, just download this

    http://download.chainfire.eu/197/SuperSU/CWM-SuperSU-v0.93.zip

    Reboot into recovery, flash it, and you will have root again. It's not superuser, but it's the same thing basically (and a little bit better imo)
     
  4. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    Certain versions are borked.
    Don't let it update you to 3.1
     
  5. bsoplinger

    bsoplinger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012

    Jun 18, 2012
    104
    10
    38
    +1 for the choice of SuperSU over superuser
     
  6. Ostrich Egg

    Ostrich Egg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012

    Jun 1, 2012
    31
    7
    36
    Yeah, Super SU is definitely the way to to. I hope more roms start including it as standard. If nothing else, the fact that it's developed by Chainfire should let you know that it's pretty good.
     
  7. bsoplinger

    bsoplinger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012

    Jun 18, 2012
    104
    10
    38
    I like being able to completely turn off toast notifications for the apps I expect to be running regularly yet still see them for unexpected apps.
     
  8. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    So does super su just replace superuser if you have it? Does it cause issues with any of our rooms or being able to flash through 4ext?
     
  9. Piznick64

    Piznick64 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    481
    15
    38
    i can use superuser to root this right? download this out of the play store right
     
  10. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Flashing the link I posted replaces superuser and puts in supersu. It has no adverse side effects
     
  11. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    You need to be rooted to actually use them :p
     
  12. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    Do you have to reset permissions or does that take care of it automatically? Any idea if that works with honeycomb? The new su update is wreaking a lot if havoc on roms for my tablet.
     
  13. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    I'm pretty sure you just flash it and ur GTG on everything. I didn't have to do anything else (past flashing :p)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...