1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Upgraded to latest firmware - now dead - help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by isdoo, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. isdoo

    isdoo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009

    Aug 7, 2009
    36
    1
    16
    Hi,

    Upgraded to the latest firmware. All went fine.

    Installed the backup software.

    Reinstalled the apps - rebooted all fine.

    Reinstallled the data, rebooted now all I have is a blac screen with hTC on it.

    Help please....
     

    Advertisement

  2. computerboyo

    computerboyo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    107
    0
    35
    have you tried taking the battery out and then putting it back in and then turning on the phone?
     
  3. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    It will be blank with HTC logo
    Takes time to boot up.
     
  4. isdoo

    isdoo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009

    Aug 7, 2009
    36
    1
    16
    yes, waited some time.

    Have managed to get it partially up, but just get a message relating to touchflo having failed.

    Can't get to the home screen.

    How can I do a factory reset (assume this is what I need to do?)
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    When you say, "reinstalled the data" what exactly did you reinstall? One thing that can cause grief is an old MMS database; the format changed between ROM versions.
     
  6. isdoo

    isdoo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009

    Aug 7, 2009
    36
    1
    16
    Just selected everything.
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    That should clear it up by clearing everything out. ;)

    Hold down HOME+BACK while powering up - you should get a menu that will let you do the reset.
     
  8. zukini

    zukini Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    98
    2
    16
    This might sound daft but it was fully charged when you started was it?
     
  9. Judge Zetsumei

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    I read somewhere that when you restore home screens and system settings it causes the phone to crash. Turn the phone off, hold the home and power button until a phone icon comes up. Press the home and power button again and a menu should pop up, select reset, then select reboot. this time when you restore your data dont restore the home screens and system settings.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...