1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support upgraded vzw galaxy nexus to 4.2.2 now i cant connect xbox360 to hotspot.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eckoman10301, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. eckoman10301

    eckoman10301 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009

    Jul 3, 2009
    11
    0
    15
    Hotspot works on all other electronics except Xbox live. Worked fine before update. Plz help:(
     

    Advertisement

  2. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Might sound silly, but have you tried deleting the settings for the Hotspot from your 360, and then re-finding? Do you have it protected, or open? If protected, try making it an open connection, see if it lets you connect? I know one of my recent updates (rooted), my hotspot reset, and defaulted to encrypted with a password, so i had to go change things back around. But since you have other things that do work, I don't think it's that. But see if it'll let you reset the settings, and try it open, see if it at least connects.
     
  3. eckoman10301

    eckoman10301 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009

    Jul 3, 2009
    11
    0
    15
    Yup tried all of that it says it can't find IP address. Tried to put IP in manually still wont work. Hotspot works on all other devices.
     
  4. sixfootsix

    sixfootsix Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I've been able to successfully connect to all my other devices except the Xbox 360. Anyone have a work around?
     
  5. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16
    Hello,

    Like many ever since I updated to 4.2.2 I began having Hotspot issues. My desktop and Xbox wouldn't connect, just my laptop and iPod touch and PS3.

    I tried rooting and using about every hotspot app in the market and only my desktop connected.

    I have searched endless forums but I still haven't found one solution to get connected to my Xbox, it kinda hurts since I'm paying for Gold. My Xbox 360 is able to find the connection but it won't connect.

    Also, when I use Hotspot apps for rooted devices my laptop never seems to find them.

    I'm using Galaxy Nexus 4.2.2 on Verizon. Thanks in advance.
     
  6. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Hello HuskerDude! Welcome to AF! :)

    I did a quick scan of the threads in that forum and didn't see anything, maybe you could post in there and ask though, Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Android Forums

    We are glad to have you with us! Hope you get it straight! :)
     
    HuskerDude likes this.
  7. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16
    Thanks for the welcome!
    I will and thanks again.
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,276
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,276
    11,693
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Might be the nature of the hotspots, do you know if they're Ad-Hoc or Infrastructure mode? - probably Ad-Hoc. I believe the Xbox 360 might have difficulty with Ad-Hoc mode WiFi. There's many devices that can't use Ad-Hoc mode.

    "Ad-Hoc" is generally when you configure a PC or other device to make a WiFi hotspot.
    "Infrastructure" is when you use a real WiFi access point or router.
     
  9. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16
    Hello,

    Like many ever since I updated to 4.2.2 I began having Hotspot issues. My desktop and Xbox wouldn't connect, just my laptop and iPod touch and PS3.

    I tried rooting and using about every hotspot app in the market and only my desktop connected.

    I have searched endless forums but I still haven't found one solution to get connected to my Xbox, it kinda hurts since I'm paying for Gold. My Xbox 360 is able to find the connection but it won't connect.

    Also, when I use Hotspot apps for rooted devices my laptop never seems to find them.

    I'm using Galaxy Nexus 4.2.2 on Verizon. Thanks in advance.
     
  10. EdwardP

    EdwardP Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013

    Aug 11, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Did you ever find a way to fix this? I'm in the same boat on this. I've even installed a few ROMs but with no luck. The only this I can come up with is to revert to a earlier build, and with out a computer right now I'm sol sadly to say.
     
  11. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    Similar topics merged. :)
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  12. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16

    How can I know which I'm using. Also when using Hotspot Apps for rooted devices, they Hotspot does not show on my computer even though it's running on my cell phone. Is there a way to fix this?

    I'm thinking about upgrading to another phone, there seems to be no way to get this fixed.
     
  13. EdwardP

    EdwardP Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013

    Aug 11, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    I don't know how it worked for you before the update, but mine worked just fine before this damned update.
     
  14. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16
    Any updates? I'm surprised there aren't many with this issue. Will costume ROMS running 4.2.1 help?
     
  15. EdwardP

    EdwardP Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013

    Aug 11, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    It's worth a shot lol. Mine was working fine with cm10 installed before the update, also try different versions of wifi tether as well. This thing is really pissing me off
     
  16. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16
    Is this the only phone with this issue? I plan on upgrading to Note 2, I just want to make sure it doesn't have the same problem.
     
  17. EdwardP

    EdwardP Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013

    Aug 11, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    from what I have read so far the s3 and s4 have the same issue with the tethering app starting with errors. So it might be that the app needs a update or a issue with jelly bean.
     
  18. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16

    I've tried around 10 different apps, I doubt it's the app. Ever since the 4.2.2 update the hotspot stopped working.
     
  19. EdwardP

    EdwardP Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013

    Aug 11, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Then I'm not sure. I would say downgrading to 4.2.1 or lower would hopefully work. Hopefully someone could chime in and help lol
     
  20. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16

    How can I downgrade?
     
  21. EdwardP

    EdwardP Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013

    Aug 11, 2013
    6
    0
    5
  22. HuskerDude

    HuskerDude Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013

    Aug 10, 2013
    18
    1
    16

    This is the same Toolkit that I used to root. Have you tried it? Are there any risks of bricking?
     
  23. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #588
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    465
    50
    43
    Our ISP is down at the moment, so I'm using the GNex's hotspot feature for the first time in a long time. I'm on 4.3 and noticed that options are missing since the last time I used it, such as choosing a channel (it's using 6), setting the number of devices that can connect, setting whether they need to be approved or not, etc. and my 360 can't connect to it anymore either. Wasn't a problem in the past. I might not have had an open NAT, but it was good enough to play multiplayer when our ISP is having issues.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...