1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Upgrading from Droid - Does Market populate all apps?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by spiff72, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. spiff72

    spiff72 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    47
    3
    16
    For those of you who have now gotten your phones and upgraded from another android phone - did you sign in to the market/configure the phone with same gmail account?

    And what I really want to know - did your previously installed apps (both free and paid) automatically download?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. burningembers

    burningembers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    331
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Portland, OR
    First question: Yes.

    Second question: No. Only the paid one's showed up for me. All the free ones I had to just go find manually :/
     
  3. spiff72

    spiff72 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    47
    3
    16
    Hmm - that sucks...

    If/when I pick one up I am going to do a Titanium Backup of all my apps. I know they haven't rooted it yet, but when they do, I am hoping that this backup can be useful. It might be rooted before I get mine :D

    Just not sure if Titanium Backup is "safe" for moving apps between phones (via the SDcard).

    Thanks
     
  4. beenz

    beenz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    396
    88
    73
    I believe Astro can back up all your apps (not the settings, though) and you can reinstall your apps from there. The Market will sync with your apps (takes a little bit) on your phone so they show up under downloads.
     
  5. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    If you want to backup your apps, download App Monster. It's the perfect app. it's what I'm using to transfer my apps.
     
  6. spiff72

    spiff72 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    47
    3
    16
    Do Astro or App Monster require root access?
     
  7. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    No to both. But Astro is longer with clicking each app, while App Monster is only a couple of clicks and all are backed up.
     
    burningembers likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...