1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Upgrading Froyo to Gingerbread- dont want to factory reset!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by psychocandy, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    114
    0
    55
    Do I have to? To be honest, I really dont see the point of an upgrade where you have to start from scratch again.

    I work in IT and I'd get hung, drawn, and quartered if I suggested to a customer that an upgrade would mean re-installing from scratch !!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. PeteDee

    PeteDee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    190
    6
    36
    Haven't had to before, what makes you think this will be the case this time?

    Pete
     
  3. seepage

    seepage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    442
    30
    43
    No you dont have to. Are you mad?
     
  4. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    114
    0
    55
    A lot of people on this forum recommend you do this...
     
  5. rynlpin

    rynlpin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    I was always told, performing a factory reset after upgrading ensured that all preceding firmware versions are removed. This'll prevent software conflicts.
     
  6. basalt

    basalt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    108
    2
    36
    Electron microscopist
    UK
    Mine went haywire without a factory reset - battery life of under eight hours, lagging ( which wasn't an issue for me before ) and the phone scalding hot all the time. It wasn't as much hassle as I thought to restore after the reset but of course you do have to find yourself some back up software.
     
  7. sal33n

    sal33n Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I work in IT also and whenever someone wants to upgrade I tell them the best thing to do is upgrade from a clean machine, ie format first and install upgrade as full version. You are guaranteed not to bring problems with you that will get left behind. windows get gunked up with registry entries that are no longer valid, useless temp files that never get deleted, DLL's that are out of date or replaced at one point from some piece of software that screws it up for others. It's always the bst way to go. Sure its more work but you will get a better running pc and up to date drivers if you do it correctly.
     
  8. PeteDee

    PeteDee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    190
    6
    36
    Yes well last time I looked the SGS was not a PC and Android works differently to Windows. I have never done a reset unless there was a specific problem and I think that would be the course I would take, try it without and only do it if there is a problem.

    Pete
     
  9. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    It's best if you do. The same goes for when you install an upgraded version of Windows or Mac.

    SGS is not Windows, but even Linux has limitations. Installing a newer version of Android means newer apps and commands. Old data file might contain contents that are no longer supported, which can cause all kind of hidden or visible problems.
     
    Manjar likes this.
  10. claus1953

    claus1953 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    141
    15
    38
    Install Titanium Backup Pro and backup all your applications and its data. Then install your new ROM and then do a factory reset. This ensures like told before that all your old files from the former OS will be removed. Then do a batch restore with Titanium Backup Pro of only the user applications and data, but not of the system data and of the system applications. You will have all your applications back completely, and you will only have to restore the custom settings you had like ringtones. screen timeout and blacklight settings, wifi connect data, BT pairings etc. this will be very fast and you will have a clean and fast phone.
     
  11. Adonai-

    Adonai- Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    8
    1
    6
    You don't have to. However, you'll find your phone will work better if you do a factory reset before & after.

    There are backup programs around to make it easier, but end of the day, if you want your phone to perform at its top after upgrading the OS then resetting is recommended.
     
  12. fruitloop

    fruitloop Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011

    Jul 8, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    How would I reinstall the software on my galaxy s? I updated it, It crashed and now won't show me the home screen when I turn it on.
     
  13. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    114
    0
    55
    You are, of course, talking about Windows environments here. Fortunately, same doesnt apply to proper OSes!!! LOL
     
  14. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    114
    0
    55
    But who wants to spend hours reinstalling?
     
  15. psychocandy

    psychocandy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    114
    0
    55
    But who wants to spend hours reinstalling?
     

Share This Page

Loading...