1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Upgrading RAM on a smartphone?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by DeeJayCruiser, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. DeeJayCruiser

    DeeJayCruiser Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    Hey all I just purchased an OEM phone from China, the unit is sweet minus the fact it has 64 FREAKING MB!!!!>!>!> Needless to say, it's the lovely way they word their profiles (they say that the "capacity" is 512 mb).

    So it got me thinking.......how the heck does RAM work on smartphones? It's an android phone of course, I've never opened a smartphone to check out the hardware but is there a ram slot, and what kind of particular RAM does it use and where can i find it?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    The only thing you can upgrade is the microSD card. Unless you're a electrical engineer, you're not going to be able to hack the motherboard and upgrade the memory on the phone. They do not work like laptops or desktops.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  3. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,820
    3,411
    923
    Yeah..its a no go.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  4. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    You don't. Make sure you do your due diligence before the purchase.

    I hate to use generalizations but that's always a risky move.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  5. DeeJayCruiser

    DeeJayCruiser Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    Yeah I know you're right.....
     
  6. lordofthereef

    lordofthereef Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,131
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,131
    369
    163
    Student
    I take it this thing is a knockoff?
     
  7. shenkov

    shenkov Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    30
    0
    35
    Buy it in China? no no no
     
  8. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    Hey Hey hey.....

    Okay fine. Most Chinese phones are still crap. I would know. I live there. Checked out a couple of Lenovo phones before..... gosh. I wonder why they can't make phones like their laptops, which are actually quite decent.

    Some Chinese phones however are pretty darn good.
     
  9. tindog13

    tindog13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    26
    3
    16
    I wasn't able to do due diligence because it wasn't made widely known that Android removed the ability to run apps from the SD for the ICS upgrade, it was only discovered after the fact by trying and failing... and that's the reason I would need a ram upgrade... I like the phone I have, it just doesn't have enough internal memory because I can't run any apps from the external memory so I run out of room really quickly. And all the new phones offered by my carrier (T-mobile) are too physically large to be convenient.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You are talking about something different - internal storage rather than RAM. When we talk about RAM we mean the volatile working memory used for running apps, rather than the flash storage used for persistent app/data storage.

    There are tricks to extend app storage onto an external sd card, but they require rooting the phone (and, of course, having a removable SD card, which not all phones have).
     
  11. batboy

    batboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #319
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    189
    86
    73
    I think it's not possible to do that unfortunately ...
    but it would be cool :D
     
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Without a modular setup it really isn't possible to upgrade certain parts of the phone.

    There are companies trying to make that happen though
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  13. hiredgun

    hiredgun Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    882
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014

    Jan 16, 2014
    882
    563
    173
    I have a Chinese HTC Harmony Chinese knock off, lol, and I honestly can't complain about how it runs right now at all. Of course it came with Chinese bloatware that I can't get rid of without rooting and totally can't read, but I took it down to the friendly Chinese " Bazar" on the corner and they told me not to worry about it that the programs can't do the phone any harm, lol.
     
  14. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    5,200
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    ocnbrze likes this.
  15. ralphsteven

    ralphsteven Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013

    Dec 16, 2013
    30
    2
    16
    I think this project is futuristic. But who knows, maybe one day we can expand the RAM memory just by connecting the phone to a "gadget" :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...