1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Upgrading ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by grenet, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. grenet

    grenet Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Hello everyone,
    Just a quick question about upgrading a ROM. I rooted my Desire and I am currently running GingerVillain0.8 which I am very happy with (by the way thanks SUroot for your invaluable FAQs you
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,113
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,113
    15,378
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I've not done a direct 0.8->1.1, but 0.8->0.9, 0.9->1.0 and 1.0->1.1 all without a wipe, so I think you'd have a good chance of getting away with it.

    Take all the titanium and nandroid backups anyway, and if there is a problem you can always wipe and restore apps from Ti, but my guess is that it won't be needed.

    From my experience if you have to wipe and restore you'll probably have to reinstall your widgets one by one - last few times I did that it left a lot of placeholders with the message "problem loading widget", so I knew where the widgets went, but that's all.
     
  3. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    yes, launcher pro says it cannot restore widgets if you save your set up within the app itself
     
  4. grenet

    grenet Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks for the info chaps. Another good reason to do a nandroid backup I guess. I can always go back to 0.8 if I can't be bothered with creating my home screens again. I don't know how people can change roms so often, they must stick with simple home screens. With mine I,m using "desktop visualizer" a lot and it would be a pain linking apps and adding images to everything again.
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    With no wipe between Rom versions needed, no settings lost.

    I've not wiped since defrost. Probably 6 months
     
  6. grenet

    grenet Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    OK installed 1.1 with no wipe and all O.K.

    Blimey I wish I'd done all this rooting stuff when I first got the phone, it's easy so far. Thanks again chaps.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...