1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Upgrading SD card with root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vayman, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. vayman

    vayman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Ohio
    Hi all,

    I am brand new to Android and have a question about upgrading from the stock 2GB card to an 8GB class 6.

    I am rooted on 2.1 and want to flash my first custom ROM. What I want to know is when I get my new card will I have to re-root all over again or will I be able to just copy the data from my stock card to my pc then copy it back over to my new card? The root process was simple enough, however I would like to not have to go through the process over again if I don't have to.

    I realize this is a noob question, but any help would be greatly appreciated!

    -vayman
     

    Advertisement

  2. xmattx920x

    xmattx920x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    31
    5
    16
    if you didnt move app2sd you can just pull your sd card out and put the new one in. simple as that
     
    vayman likes this.
  3. vayman

    vayman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Ohio
    I actually haven't gotten as far as app2sd b/c of the stock card. I didn't think it would support it b/c I thought I read that you need at least a 8GB class 6 for it to run smoothly w/ no issues. So can I use app2sd with the stock card as it is?

    So then I don't need to copy any of the data, with exception of my pics & music, from my current card to my pc? Please correct me if Im wrong, but I thought during the rooting process I pushed certain files to my sd card that I would need to move to my new one in order to maintain root.

    Once again I'm very new to all of this, so please forgive for asking these questions.
     
  4. jimbob_texas

    jimbob_texas Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    22
    2
    36
    Easy breezy. I just upgraded my SD card today to 16GB. I copied the contents off to my PC, installed and formatted the new card, copied the contents over, and that's it.

    I think having apps on the SD via app2sd might actually be harder, because you've got installed apps that are looking for that SD card's info.
     
    vayman likes this.
  5. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #275
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    what and where did you get your card? and how much, I have thinking of getting one too
     
  6. vayman

    vayman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Ohio
  7. vayman

    vayman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Ohio
    Thanks for the info guys. I didn't think it was gonna be that easy. :D
     
  8. jimbob_texas

    jimbob_texas Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    22
    2
    36
    16GB from Radio Shack, $49.99.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...