1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Upgrading to 1.6

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by htcherolover, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Hey I'm on the android 1.5 for HTC Hero. Is it possible to upgrade to 1.6?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Eaglesfan9106

    Eaglesfan9106 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    334
    14
    38
    Philadelphia
    no htc and sprint are working on the 2.1 upgrade from what i understand its pretty much done there just testing it and we should be getting it soon within a month or so sprint tweeted that our 2.1 upgrade will come in early Q2 so i would assume Yours should be around the same time if not sooner since i take it u have the euro hero
     
  3. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    Unofficially there is no 1.6 ROM, but there is a 2.1 ROM.
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    The latest official ROM is only up to 1.5.

    But if you use custom ROMs you can have 2.1 like bluenova said.
     
  5. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Awesome, I'm kind of scared to root it myself. Are there any very specific tutorials/videos that would guide me? Thanks.
     
  6. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
  7. daven

    daven Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    37
    0
    15
    I'm totally confused I've just read "Latest Firmware ROM version 2.73.XXX.X
    (2.73 is the ROM version related to the Android and XXX.X may vary depending on your mobile provider)"
    Can anyone explain what is the latest version.
    TIA
    Daven​
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Ok, so Firmware refers to the version of android the update contains. The latest update is on firmware version 1.5.

    But, over time I guess HTC created/released several updates all based on the same 1.5 firmware. Each update has it's own build number, and the latest is 2.73.x.x. And like you've read, the Xs in the build numbers refer to the network it's intended for use on, not how up todate the software is.
     
  9. daven

    daven Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    37
    0
    15
    Thanks for your prompt reply.

    At the moment my phone has build number 1.76.405.6 and firmware version 1.5. Would you recomend I do anything now or wait for the long awaited 2.1 ROM next month (hopefully)

    I have the common problem of the trackball light and headphone socket not working correctly and I understand that these are software problems that an update will fix.

    Thanks in advance

    Kind Regards

    Daven
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Really it depends if you can be bothered to set up the phone twice, since each update will wipe the phone. So if those bugs bother you then it's probably worth it. There are lots of topics about backing up data + apps between updates if you do a search, which would speed the process up :)
     
    daven likes this.
  11. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    I would suggest you upgrade to a 2.73 build now as skipping builds is generaly not a good idea and HTC might not support an upgrade from 1.76 to whatever build number they use for the 2.1 ROM.
     
    daven likes this.
  12. kenjancef

    kenjancef Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    18
    0
    35
    East Providence, RI
    Ok, for us n00bs (I just got my Sprint Hero yesterday), where can I get the update? I have Build Number 1.56.651.2.

    Thanks.

    Ken
     
  13. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I don't know how Sprint do their updates, (I only know about the GSM ones :p) but try the people over in the Sprint Hero forum

    Sprint HTC Hero - Android Forums
     
  14. chrish

    chrish Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    17
    0
    35
    IT - Oracle/Unix ...
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    daven - did you upgrade your Hero? I'm in the same situation as you & would be keen to learn how it went.

    Cheers, Chris
     
  15. daven

    daven Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    37
    0
    15
    Hi Chris

    No, I deceided to wait for the 2.1 ROM. Hopefully this will be a bit easier than doing it twice even if it means skipping a build.

    Cheers

    Daven
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...