1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Upgrading to Froyo with 64 Bit Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by designinme, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. designinme

    designinme Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Does the upgrade work using a 64 Bit machine running windows 7?
     

    Advertisement

  2. pflol

    pflol Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    347
    44
    43
    Oahu / Hawaii
    yeah, it does. I don't like that method though, i would just download the zip and apply it in recovery
     
  3. MisterDisney

    MisterDisney Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    48
    2
    16
    That's all I did. Just DL'd the update.zip file, copied it to SD storage and applied it in recovery mode. Very easy.
     
  4. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    No problems at all using win7 64 bit. I recommend using the samsung installer over the zip method to get the best froyo experience you can.
     
  5. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    My froyo experience is pretty darn good with a Fresh DI18 and the update.zip method. Why do you think the installer method gives you a better experience?
     
  6. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,215
    389
    163
    For the same reason that if you visit the root forums you'll see people talking about wiping data and cache 3 or more times between each rom they apply. There are stray files that could be left over after a flash that can make things buggy sometimes. It doesn't happen to everyone but it does happen.

    Just look at all of the problem threads starting to pop up...
     
  7. mrbonesstl

    mrbonesstl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I tried the 64bit and would freeze. Had to do 32
     

Share This Page

Loading...