1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Urgent Help - Custom Rom Gone Wrong

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MikeC1408, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. MikeC1408

    MikeC1408 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    260
    28
    43
    Essex
    Have tried to flash DeFrost via Rom Manager and all seemed to be going well, until the process seemed to finish and the phone rebooted.

    I get the White screen with HTC then it switches to the Nexus 1 X animation and that's it....

    What have I done and is it easy to correct.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,054
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,054
    13,089
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    How long did you leave it? The first boot after flashing dues take a long time (many minutes from my experience with DeFrost 6.1).
     
  3. MikeC1408

    MikeC1408 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    260
    28
    43
    Essex
    20 minutes.

    Just remembered I backed the SD card up before partitioning so copy that backup onto another card and then restored from Recovery so for now phone is back.

    Any ideas on what went wrong?
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,054
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,054
    13,089
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Glad you got it back - nandroid really is a lifesaver! :)

    20 minutes does sound too long. Did you do a full wipe before flashing? Coming from a Sense ROM there will be incompatabilities in system data, so you need to do a factory reset before flashing. Make sure you back up your own data first (e.g. titanium backup).

    Check the FAQ threads in danfrance's signature.

    If you did wipe before flashing, then we'll have to wait until someone more knowledgeable comes along.

    Battery low - gotta sign out now. Good luck.
     
  5. MikeC1408

    MikeC1408 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    260
    28
    43
    Essex
    3rd time lucky and DeFrost is now installed.

    Will be putting the extra SD Card somewhere safe :D
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    did you wipe the device before flashing the rom?
     
  7. MikeC1408

    MikeC1408 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    260
    28
    43
    Essex
    First time no, didn't tick that option. Second time yes :D

    It was all running fine and looked like the apps where going to the partition on the card when reinstalled via app brain (more spare space on internal memory for the apps installed than there should have been).

    When the phone was rebooted all the widgets failed to load :(

    Nandroid restore of old rom for now, will try again tonight from scratch.
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah its odd this. Only thing I can think of is some of the widgets are encoded to install to an external location (SD not SD Ext).

    Try again and check if the Move to SD option is available in Manage applications. If it is not, see if they can be moved back to internal memory as this is where they need to be.

    Also, you can check using android mate, go to data/app on the phone, it should be symlinked to sd ext. Browse to see if the apk's are all there you expect.
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    it does this when froyo apps2sd takes over and installs an app to sdcard and the a2sd+ script sees it on reboot and moves the dalvic to the ext partition.
    when this happens the app cannot run

    do this and reboot, afterwards install your widgets and it should be fine
    adb shell pm setInstallLocation 1
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...