1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Urgent, please help me :/ Battery issue!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Nikkoko, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    I seriously dont know whats going on... I use my phone for 5 minutes and then the battery drops by 3%... I have no apps running, my screen is only 1/3 bright, my Wifi is turned off and I'm not downloading anything... When I open task manager all my apps are closed.

    I got the phone yesterday and I drained the battery and then charged it for 8 hours, I have looked ALL OVER THE INTERNET but with no luck. People seem to have the same problem as me but nobody has solved it.:hmpf:

    My phone dies within 3-4 hours btw!
     

    Advertisement

  2. candiandylan

    candiandylan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Something similar happened to me at times, I downloaded Advance Task Killer, and that seems to help with what ever it is, mine is more the fact that 100% to 50% will last reallyyyyyy long than 50%-0% goes in like 2-3hours
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,253
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,253
    39,998
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Please don't install a task killer. They will do more harm than good.


    Why You Don't Need a Task Killer.


    If this battery drain is a recent development, it may be that one of your apps or services simply is stuck or a radio is permenantly on. A simple restart of the phone should clear that up. If it continues, then I'd look at recently installed apps or recently updated apps. You can go to menu>settings>about phone>battery usage to see what the big drain is.
     
  4. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    but I have no apps running why would apps drain my batt? Do I maybe need to condition mybatt again? How long should a S2 actually run 100-0%?
     
  5. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    Screen 52%
    OS 12
    Standby 5
    Times(app) 5
    Temple run 4
    and so on
    But the thing is I have only used time for about 10-15 minutes total...
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,253
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,253
    39,998
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That looks like "normal" power consumption.

    I'd recommend letting the battery run all the way down until the phone shuts off and then using the wall charger, charge it back to 100%. If it doesn't clear up the problem you might simply have a battery that's going bad.
     
  7. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    My phone is switching between WCDMA and GSM non stop, may that be the problem? I tought I could try WCDMA (i dont really have use of a smartphone using gsm...) only so my battery drains slower hence the switching, what do u think?
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,253
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,253
    39,998
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Absolutely. By keeping both radios on all the time it will suck your battery dry in no time.
     
  9. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    So why is there a gsm/wcdma option :/?
    And when I chose WCDMA It says 3g, then H+ then 3G again... what is H+?
    When it switches between H+ and 3G the 3g signal becomes weaker
    So when a 3g signal is weaker doesnt the phone drain more batt..
    Sorry for asking so much, but Its my first super smartphone :(
    Ah u gave me a hope, even tho I'll need a haily mary for it to be true :p
     
  10. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,253
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,253
    39,998
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Okay, this might be a little confusing, but here goes. The SGS2 does not support true 4G, which would be WiMAX or LTE currently. According to the spec's set by the International Telecommunications Union-Radio communications sector (ITU-R) the technologies being deployed in 2010, which were better than 3G were not fully 4G compliant but under pressure from the carrier networks and phone manufacturers they agreed to allow the use of 4G strictly for marketing phones that used HSPA+, or Evolved High-Speed Packet Access (That's the H+ you see) for 3G networks. When you see the icon switching between 3G and H+, it tells me that the signal for H+ is weak. With a weak signal, you may drop the H+ signal causing it to renegotiate with slower, but stronger 3G signals. However, your phone will always try and use the H+ signal when available so it will renegotiate back to H+. If this keeps going back and forth, it will significantly drain your battery.

    If this is a new development, it may be a problem with the carrier antenna or some interference in your neighborhood.
     
  11. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    I understood everything, engeneering n economics :p
    But do u think I will save LOOOAAADDDSSS of battery now (cuz before all I had were 3 hrs) cuz my phone doesnt swich between gsm n wcdma. I live in sweden so there is no avoiding h+ and 3g...(unless there is an option to turn off H+ if it helps me save battery)
     
  12. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,253
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,253
    39,998
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    3 hours is definitely a problem. Even when I'm at work where my signals are dodgy, I can get 8-10 hours. At home, i easily get 24, so you may still have something else going on, but yes, if you have a good wifi signal, keep that on and see if it improves your battery life. Android always favors wifi over mobile data.

    I don't know of a stock option to turn off H+ ... not saying it isn't there, I just don't know how to do it.
     
  13. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    I got 15 hours from the battery (I just assumed that it would be 3hours if i used it non stop) I got 15 hours with it on standby and chatting and stuff but then it was also in standby for the most of the time.. :/
     
  14. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,253
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,253
    39,998
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Is this a new phone? You might need to power cycle it.

    Modern Li-Ion batteries do not have a memory and do not need to be conditioned, but Android needs to be taught exactly what a full charge represents so that it can manage power appropriately.

    One of the things I recommend all new phone owners to do is to perform a deep power cycle.

    Let your phone discharge completely, keep it on until you are warned about low battery and then just let it run out. Most phone will shut down automatically around 5%.

    Plug the phone into the original a/c charger, not the usb cable. Let it charge to full uninterrupted.

    When the phone says full, unplug the phone from the charge and reboot. Once the phone is completely restarted, plug it back into the charger and shut the phone off. Even if it says fully charged, let it charge for at least one more hour.

    Unplug the charger and reboot the phone one more time. Now you should start seeing (possibly significantly) longer charge times.

    Without a deep power cycle, it doesn't know the true capacity of the battery. Be advised that you should only need to do this once as regularly deep cycling the battery can harm it. Li-Ion batteries perform better and last longer with incremental charges.
     
  15. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    This is a new phone! I got it yesterday, I drained the battery completly and then I charged it for 8 hrs, altho i didnt restart, can that be the problem?
     
  16. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,253
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,253
    39,998
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    yup. New phones take a bit of settling in, before you get the real picture. Power cycle it as I suggested and give it a week. I'll bet you'll be getting much better use times.
     
  17. Nikkoko

    Nikkoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    Thanks :) The battery is looking better alredy since I switched to WCDMA only :)
    I'll give it a try! Otherwise I'll buy a new batt or send the phone on repair if its the phone thats at fault :p

    Thanks a bunch!!

    Have a nice day/night depending on where u are!:D
     
  18. Rheumatoid

    Rheumatoid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012

    Feb 28, 2012
    95
    8
    16
    i just got 55 hours before plugging it an at 5% left. Average use (for me) of browsing, email polling and texts/calls. It improved steadily after the upgrade. Wifi on always and 25/3g set to auto in a poor signal area. Initially panicked as was getting 10 hours at most when I used to get 30 on GB. I would give it time to settle. I still think beautiful widgets weather widget and Gtalk were problematic for me as I see nothing like the wake time I did before disabling them. The phone seems to wake rarely when asleep now.
     
  19. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Seems reasonable usage for a smartphone... and it does get a little better if its new.

    You also don't have to switch GSM/WCDMA. A lot of times its 3G that causes drains and wakelogs. Without data, apps that require data won't run, and at the same time you aren't using 3G services. If you long press the power button, a menu will pop up. One of the options is to disable the data line. You won't believe the amount of juice you save just disabling data and using only when you need it.

    Enjoy your new phone.

    Cheers
     
  20. JR866Gooner

    JR866Gooner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    333
    27
    43
    IT> MCDST
    UK- East Anglia
    So what's the difference between having the two options and just the one. Im not certain i know what gsm and wcdma are!?:thinking:
     
  21. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    GSM is 2G and WCDMA is 3G (Layman terms although never really test this concept out). Choosing GSM leaves you only on 2G which does save you some juice and give you MMS and data, albeit at lower speed.

    Off data, and 2G is gone as well. So no MMS and no data, but battery last twice as long as with data on. Just an individual choice.
     
  22. JR866Gooner

    JR866Gooner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    333
    27
    43
    IT> MCDST
    UK- East Anglia
    Thanks for your reply! So leaving it on wcdma won't restrict signal strength etc? In other words Im not going to lose signal completely just because of no 3g?
    Best
    Jr
     
  23. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Wish could tell for sure, but I actually leave it on auto. 2G/E/3G/H+ appears as and when signal is available. But I suspect leaving it on WCDMA should do no harm other than sucks up a little more juice. Normal call line should not be affected either way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...